LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mingwei Zhang <mizhang@google.com>
To: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	John Allen <john.allen@amd.com>,
	Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Wanpeng Li <wanpengli@tencent.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>, Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	kvm <kvm@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Alper Gun <alpergun@google.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	David Rienjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>, Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>,
	Vipin Sharma <vipinsh@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] clean up interface between KVM and psp
Date: Tue, 17 Aug 2021 22:34:47 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL715WKYFy2nDSaPJZm0DtwnM3X6y+1xG0np4DWiWELFKPR6cQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <f703fbb6-2585-95e6-9bc4-d24580d6f1f5@amd.com>

>
> I have no objection to move those functions in SEV drv.
>
> With build fix
>
> Acked-by: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
>
Thanks for the ack. Will fix all build issues in the next version.

> I was trying to keep all the guest management commands functions within
> KVM because no other driver needs it. Having said that, we made
> exception for the decommission and activate so we can cleanup the
> firmware resource in non-process context.
>
Yes, ACTIVATE  / DECOMMISSION is one case that illustrates the need to
care about their internal relationship. And there is another case,
which is the serialization requirement between DF_FLUSH and
DEACTIVATE. This requires KVM to maintain an extra RWSEM. So I feel
that it would be good to hide these details away from KVM even if KVM
is the only user.

Thanks.
-Mingwei

      reply	other threads:[~2021-08-18  5:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-16 20:24 Mingwei Zhang
2021-08-16 20:24 ` [PATCH 1/3] KVM: SVM: move sev_decommission to psp driver Mingwei Zhang
2021-08-16 20:24 ` [PATCH 2/3] KVM: SVM: move sev_bind_asid to psp Mingwei Zhang
2021-08-16 20:24 ` [PATCH 3/3] KVM: SVM: move sev_unbind_asid and DF_FLUSH logic into psp Mingwei Zhang
2021-08-17  8:54 ` [PATCH 0/3] clean up interface between KVM and psp Paolo Bonzini
2021-08-17 18:08   ` Mingwei Zhang
2021-08-17 19:54     ` Brijesh Singh
2021-08-18  5:34       ` Mingwei Zhang [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAL715WKYFy2nDSaPJZm0DtwnM3X6y+1xG0np4DWiWELFKPR6cQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=mizhang@google.com \
    --cc=alpergun@google.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=brijesh.singh@amd.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=john.allen@amd.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marcorr@google.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=pgonda@google.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=vipinsh@google.com \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wanpengli@tencent.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/3] clean up interface between KVM and psp' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).