LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
To: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	dave@bewaar.me, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Martin Fuzzey <mfuzzey@parkeon.com>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Nicolas Broeking <nbroeking@me.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	duwe@suse.de, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	X86 ML <x86@kernel.org>, linux-efi <linux-efi@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 0/5] efi/firmware/platform-x86: Add EFI embedded fw support
Date: Wed, 6 Jun 2018 11:40:52 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CALCETrVEw9cfHrxRmY3z+B9hS3X=QT0A4_bsX3nPp3h6oLBY7Q@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <350930d6-5a0f-11e1-1b04-e5c11961931b@redhat.com>

On Wed, Jun 6, 2018 at 11:17 AM Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> Hi,
>
> On 05-06-18 22:46, Luis R. Rodriguez wrote:
> > On Fri, Jun 01, 2018 at 02:53:25PM +0200, Hans de Goede wrote:
> >> Hi All,
> >>
> >> Here is v6 of my patch-set to add support for EFI embedded fw to the kernel.
> >>
> >> This patch-set applies on top of the "[PATCH v7 00/14] firmware_loader
> >> changes for v4.18" series from mcgrof.
> >>
> >> It now also depends on the series from Andy Lutomirski which allow using the
> >> sha256 code in a standalone manner. Andy what is the status of those?
> >>
> >> Changes since v5:
> >> -Rework code to remove casts from if (prefix == mem) comparison
> >> -Use SHA256 hashes instead of crc32 sums
> >
> > Nice! I see no updates on this progress, but it would seem this
> > may then mean this cannot be merged until the release after?
>
> Once the sha256 bits are in place the subsys tree which has them
> merged can create an immutable branch for Greg to merge and
> then these can be applied on top of that merge.
>
> But yes this means that these probably won't go in for another
> cycle or 2, that is fine.
>
> >> -Add new READING_FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED read_file_id and use it
> >> -Call security_kernel_read_file(NULL, READING_FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED)
> >>   to check if this is allowed before looking at EFI embedded fw
> >
> > There's a discussion over having security_kernel_read_file(NULL,
> > READING_WHATEVER) become another LSM hook. So your series would conflict with
> > that at the moment.
> >
> > So yet another piece of code which this series depends on.
>
> Ah well, I'm in no big hurry to get this merged. OTOH if this is
> ready and that discussion is not yet finished it might be better
> to merge this as is and then have the security_kernel_read_file / LSM
> hook series fix this up as necessary when it is merged.
>

Let's give Jason a bit longer to reply.  I know he's actively working
on this thing, but it's part of a bigger project.

      parent reply	other threads:[~2018-06-06 18:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-06-01 12:53 Hans de Goede
2018-06-01 12:53 ` [PATCH v6 1/5] efi: Export boot-services code and data as debugfs-blobs Hans de Goede
2018-06-01 12:53 ` [PATCH v6 2/5] efi: Add embedded peripheral firmware support Hans de Goede
2018-06-01 23:40   ` Randy Dunlap
2018-06-05 21:07   ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-06 18:39     ` Hans de Goede
2018-06-06 21:42       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-07 13:46         ` Hans de Goede
2018-06-07 15:57           ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-01 12:53 ` [PATCH v6 3/5] platform/x86: Rename silead_dmi to touchscreen_dmi Hans de Goede
2018-06-01 12:53 ` [PATCH v6 4/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add EFI embedded firmware info support Hans de Goede
2018-06-01 12:53 ` [PATCH v6 5/5] platform/x86: touchscreen_dmi: Add info for the Chuwi Vi8 Plus tablet Hans de Goede
2018-06-02  3:39 ` [PATCH v6 0/5] efi/firmware/platform-x86: Add EFI embedded fw support Andy Lutomirski
2018-06-03 16:39   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-06-05 20:46 ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-06 18:17   ` Hans de Goede
2018-06-06 18:35     ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-06-06 18:40     ` Andy Lutomirski [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CALCETrVEw9cfHrxRmY3z+B9hS3X=QT0A4_bsX3nPp3h6oLBY7Q@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=Jason@zx2c4.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=duwe@suse.de \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matt@codeblueprint.co.uk \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mfuzzey@parkeon.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nbroeking@me.com \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 0/5] efi/firmware/platform-x86: Add EFI embedded fw support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).