LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: "Türk, Jan" <Jan.Tuerk@emtrion.de>
Cc: "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <fabio.estevam@nxp.com>,
	"Andreas Färber" <afaerber@suse.de>,
	"Kevin Hilman" <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@free-electrons.com>,
	"SZ Lin" <sz.lin@moxa.com>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org"
	<dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	LinuxArmKernelMailingListe <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] drm/panel: Add support for the EDT ETM0700G0BDH6
Date: Tue, 26 Dec 2017 11:25:08 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL_JsqL8Yny=tm23jbJTMvM2OdXUE3d1A+h4d2kNARHnLgLMkA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <95F51F4B902CAC40AF459205F6322F01B7FDFECC3D@BMK019S01.emtrion.local>

On Fri, Dec 22, 2017 at 4:43 AM, Türk, Jan <Jan.Tuerk@emtrion.de> wrote:
>> Von: Rob Herring [mailto:robh@kernel.org]
>> Gesendet: Freitag, 22. Dezember 2017 00:00
>> Betreff: Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] drm/panel: Add support for the EDT
>> ETM0700G0BDH6
>>
>> On Wed, Dec 20, 2017 at 02:47:01PM +0100, jan.tuerk@emtrion.com wrote:
>> > From: Jan Tuerk <jan.tuerk@emtrion.com>
>> >
>> > The Emerging Display Technology ETM0700G0BDH6 is exactly the same
>> > display as the ETM0700G0DH6, exept the pixelclock polarity. Therefore
>> > re-use the ETM0700G0DH6 modes. It is used by default on emtrion Avari
>> > based development kits.
>>
>> As I asked on v1, why not document the panels together in a single doc?
>
> As denoted in the cover letter:

I generally don't read cover letters...

>>The documentation for the EDT display is kept as an extra file currently,
>>as it is done by the most displays in the documentation. Also a new
>>new Variant of the EDT already arrived. So merging their documentations
>>should be discussed separately.

You mean a 3rd variant?

> I think it will be even a little tricky to find a matching filename for both versions,
> as the recent ones adding an extra character in the description. Are you expecting sth.
> like edt,etm0700series.txt?

Yeah, or edt,etm0700g0.txt.

Rob

  reply	other threads:[~2017-12-26 17:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2017-12-22 10:43 Türk, Jan
2017-12-26 17:25 ` Rob Herring [this message]
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2017-11-23 12:55 [PATCH 0/5] Add basic support for emtrion emCON-MX6 modules Jan Tuerk
2017-12-20 13:47 ` [PATCH v2 " jan.tuerk
2017-12-20 13:47   ` [PATCH v2 1/5] drm/panel: Add support for the EDT ETM0700G0BDH6 jan.tuerk
2017-12-21 22:59     ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAL_JsqL8Yny=tm23jbJTMvM2OdXUE3d1A+h4d2kNARHnLgLMkA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=Jan.Tuerk@emtrion.de \
    --cc=afaerber@suse.de \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=fabio.estevam@nxp.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=sz.lin@moxa.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] drm/panel: Add support for the EDT ETM0700G0BDH6' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).