LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
To: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
Cc: Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com>, Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>,
	David Lechner <david@lechnology.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Arend van Spriel <aspriel@gmail.com>,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>,
	Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>,
	Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>,
	"moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE"
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/11] platform: device tree support for early platform drivers
Date: Tue, 24 Apr 2018 14:39:44 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL_JsqLcoPK-dDWjwrS82RRG-WLKePfDgHJcBKRQWZG5PszrKg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180424173051.15099-1-brgl@bgdev.pl>

On Tue, Apr 24, 2018 at 12:30 PM, Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl> wrote:
> From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
>
> Device tree based systems often use OF_DECLARE() macros for devices
> that need to be initialized early in the boot process such as clocks,
> timers etc. However platform devices are more desirable.

Yes, platform devices would be more desirable, but ...
>
> This series aims at introducing support for early platform drivers for
> OF-based systems.

... the whole early_platform_device infrastructure is not really a
platform_device. Rather it kind of looks like one and I guess gets
converted over during boot.

This is not the first attempt to add DT support to early platform
devices[1]. I think the same objections still apply. It has been
pretty much only an SH thing (which as an arch, I'm told is pretty
much unmaintained and broken).

> The idea is to have a special compatible fallback string: "earlydev"
> that similarily to "syscon" would be added to device nodes that need
> early probing. We then need to call of_early_platform_populate() early
> in the boot process to actually probe the registered devices.

Others have sufficiently explained why this won't fly for DT, so I
don't have more to add.

Rob

[1] http://lists.infradead.org/pipermail/linux-arm-kernel/2011-June/054529.html

      parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-24 19:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-24 17:30 Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 01/11] platform: early: provide early_platform_add_device() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 02/11] platform: provide early_platform_driver_register_probe_all() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 03/11] platform: make support for early platform devices conditional Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 19:31   ` Randy Dunlap
2018-04-25 14:02   ` Rich Felker
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 04/11] of: platform: use pdev as name for vars of type struct platform_device Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 05/11] platform: use a dedicated list_head for early devices Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-26  4:27   ` kbuild test robot
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 06/11] of: provide for_each_compatible_child_node() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 07/11] dt-bindings: add bindings for early devices Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 08/11] of: platform: provide of_early_platform_populate() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 09/11] platform: provide early_platform_driver() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 10/11] of: platform: provide of_early_platform_probe() Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-26  3:46   ` kbuild test robot
2018-04-24 17:30 ` [PATCH 11/11] misc: implement a dummy early platform driver Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 17:55 ` [PATCH 00/11] platform: device tree support for early platform drivers Mark Rutland
2018-04-24 17:59   ` Rich Felker
2018-04-24 17:57 ` Rich Felker
2018-04-25  9:33   ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-04-24 18:19 ` Robin Murphy
2018-04-24 19:39 ` Rob Herring [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAL_JsqLcoPK-dDWjwrS82RRG-WLKePfDgHJcBKRQWZG5PszrKg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=aspriel@gmail.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=brgl@bgdev.pl \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=david@lechnology.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jan.kiszka@siemens.com \
    --cc=jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=khilman@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nsekhar@ti.com \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 00/11] platform: device tree support for early platform drivers' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).