LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>, Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>,
	Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] perf/core: Add a new read format to get a number of lost samples
Date: Wed, 22 Sep 2021 12:34:20 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAM9d7cg_=EFQNVvEWsmNiQ_jjjiRSXjc=uH=4uQzuVbVNzuLDw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAM9d7cjjjV0uNCNLohFMFizRxvu2vwJBgE-Cge1Y6F3jDuPLNg@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Peter,

On Fri, Sep 10, 2021 at 3:40 PM Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Sep 10, 2021 at 2:42 PM Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> wrote:
> >
> > On Wed, Sep 08, 2021 at 10:24:20AM -0700, Namhyung Kim wrote:
> > > Sometimes we want to know an accurate number of samples even if it's
> > > lost.  Currenlty PERF_RECORD_LOST is generated for a ring-buffer which
> > > might be shared with other events.  So it's hard to know per-event
> > > lost count.
> > >
> > > Add event->lost_samples field and PERF_FORMAT_LOST to retrieve it from
> > > userspace.
> >
> > hi,
> > looks good.. will there be some tools/perf change using this?
>
> Sure, I'll work on the userspace part after this is merged.
> I'm thinking about adding LOST_SAMPLES records at the end
> of the data section as if they came from the kernel.

Can I get your feedback?

Thanks,
Namhyung

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-22 19:34 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-08 17:24 Namhyung Kim
2021-09-10 21:42 ` Jiri Olsa
2021-09-10 22:40   ` Namhyung Kim
2021-09-22 19:34     ` Namhyung Kim [this message]
2021-10-15  6:29       ` Namhyung Kim

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAM9d7cg_=EFQNVvEWsmNiQ_jjjiRSXjc=uH=4uQzuVbVNzuLDw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mpetlan@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2] perf/core: Add a new read format to get a number of lost samples' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).