LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com>, Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>,
	David Lechner <david@lechnology.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Peter Rosin <peda@axentia.se>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 09/12] platform/early: add an init section for early driver data
Date: Tue, 15 May 2018 10:41:42 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMRc=MfF=OxvC=pcVvu2BmEceHytPZUOMrALf=CHxngPdAXpUA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAMuHMdUnG0YLg=HXMrUVJ34sZEDuuZRYxnrPPC45-KpAkO3bcw@mail.gmail.com>

2018-05-14 23:29 GMT+02:00 Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>:
> Hi Bartosz,
>
> On Fri, May 11, 2018 at 6:20 PM, Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl> wrote:
>> From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
>>
>> Provide a separate section in which pointers to early platform driver
>> structs will be stored.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
>
> Thanks for your patch!
>
>> --- a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
>> +++ b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
>> @@ -214,6 +214,16 @@
>>  #define CPU_METHOD_OF_TABLES() OF_TABLE(CONFIG_SMP, cpu_method)
>>  #define CPUIDLE_METHOD_OF_TABLES() OF_TABLE(CONFIG_CPU_IDLE, cpuidle_method)
>>
>> +#ifdef CONFIG_EARLY_PLATFORM
>> +#define EARLY_PLATFORM_DRIVERS_TABLE()                                 \
>> +       . = ALIGN(8);                                                   \
>
> Should this use STRUCT_ALIGN() instead?
>

No, we're only using it to store pointers to structs, not the actual
struct early_platform_driver objects.

>> +       VMLINUX_SYMBOL(__early_platform_drivers_table) = .;             \
>> +       KEEP(*(__early_platform_drivers_table))                         \
>> +       VMLINUX_SYMBOL(__early_platform_drivers_table_end) = .;
>> +#else
>> +#define EARLY_PLATFORM_DRIVERS_TABLE()
>> +#endif
>
> Gr{oetje,eeting}s,
>
>                         Geert
>
> --
> Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org
>
> In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
> when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
>                                 -- Linus Torvalds

Thanks,
Bartosz

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-15  8:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 35+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-11 16:20 [PATCH 00/12] introduce support for early platform drivers Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 01/12] platform/early: add a new field to struct device Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:24   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 02/12] platform/early: don't WARN() on non-empty devres list for early devices Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:24   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 03/12] platform/early: export platform_match() locally Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:25   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 04/12] platform: provide a separate function for initializing platform devices Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:25   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 05/12] platform: export platform_device_release() locally Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:25   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 06/12] of: add a new flag for OF device nodes Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:25   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 07/12] of/platform: provide a separate routine for setting up device resources Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:26   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 08/12] of/platform: provide a separate routine for device initialization Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:26   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 09/12] platform/early: add an init section for early driver data Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:29   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-15  8:41     ` Bartosz Golaszewski [this message]
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 10/12] platform/early: implement support for early platform drivers Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 13:37   ` Rob Herring
2018-05-15 14:06     ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-16  1:06       ` Rob Herring
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 11/12] misc: implement a dummy early platform driver Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-11 16:20 ` [PATCH 12/12] of/platform: make the OF code aware of early platform drivers Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 21:32   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-11 20:13 ` [PATCH 00/12] introduce support for " Rob Herring
2018-05-14 11:38   ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2018-05-14 13:20     ` Rob Herring
2018-05-30 19:40       ` Michael Turquette
2018-05-30 22:36         ` Rob Herring
2018-05-31  6:42           ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2018-05-31 14:16             ` Tony Lindgren
2018-10-19 12:08 ` Bartosz Golaszewski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMRc=MfF=OxvC=pcVvu2BmEceHytPZUOMrALf=CHxngPdAXpUA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=brgl@bgdev.pl \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=david@lechnology.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=khilman@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nsekhar@ti.com \
    --cc=peda@axentia.se \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).