LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jagan Teki <jagan@amarulasolutions.com>
To: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
Cc: Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 05/10] drm/panel: Create attach and detach callbacks
Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2021 13:23:53 +0530	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMty3ZAjxr6YCWyY_A3MGJAVPTHASQde=BQFaCfr+wWkHzO6nA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210720134525.563936-6-maxime@cerno.tech>

Hi Maxime,

On Tue, Jul 20, 2021 at 7:15 PM Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech> wrote:
>
> In order to make the probe order expectation more consistent between
> bridges, let's create attach and detach hooks for the panels as well to
> match what is there for bridges.
>
> Signed-off-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
> ---
>  drivers/gpu/drm/drm_panel.c | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++
>  include/drm/drm_panel.h     |  6 ++++++
>  2 files changed, 26 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_panel.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_panel.c
> index f634371c717a..23bca798a2f3 100644
> --- a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_panel.c
> +++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_panel.c
> @@ -223,6 +223,26 @@ int drm_panel_get_modes(struct drm_panel *panel,
>  }
>  EXPORT_SYMBOL(drm_panel_get_modes);
>
> +int drm_panel_attach(struct drm_panel *panel)
> +{
> +       if (!panel)
> +               return -EINVAL;
> +
> +       if (panel->funcs && panel->funcs->attach)
> +               return panel->funcs->attach(panel);
> +
> +       return -EOPNOTSUPP;

Most of the panel drivers won't require panel attach/detach API's so
we need to handle those cases as well if we didn't already.

Thanks,
Jagan.

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-22  7:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-20 13:45 [PATCH 00/10] drm/bridge: Make panel and bridge probe order consistent Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 01/10] Revert "drm/vc4: dsi: Only register our component once a DSI device is attached" Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 02/10] drm/bridge: Add a function to abstract away panels Maxime Ripard
2021-07-22  7:49   ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 03/10] drm/bridge: Add documentation sections Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 04/10] drm/bridge: Document the probe issue with MIPI-DSI bridges Maxime Ripard
2021-07-21 12:05   ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-21 12:06     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-26 15:16     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-07-27  9:20       ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-28 13:27         ` Maxime Ripard
2021-07-27  9:42   ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-28 13:35     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-08-05 12:19       ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 05/10] drm/panel: Create attach and detach callbacks Maxime Ripard
2021-07-22  7:53   ` Jagan Teki [this message]
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 06/10] drm/bridge: panel: Call attach and detach for the panel Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 07/10] drm/vc4: dsi: Switch to drm_of_get_next Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 08/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Prevent double-free Maxime Ripard
     [not found]   ` <YPcFrKLq1dhTcOUL@ravnborg.org>
2021-07-22  9:38     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 09/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Use the attach hook Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 10/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Remove MIPI-DSI driver Maxime Ripard

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMty3ZAjxr6YCWyY_A3MGJAVPTHASQde=BQFaCfr+wWkHzO6nA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=jagan@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 05/10] drm/panel: Create attach and detach callbacks' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).