LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com>
Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Santosh Shilimkar <ssantosh@kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/3] drivers/soc/renesas: Prefer memcpy over strcpy
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2021 11:38:14 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdV7ZM9oZG-KU4Ap+H4YehnyGoZn+jsdiJ20GwMFNh+6uQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210808125012.4715-3-len.baker@gmx.com>

On Sun, Aug 8, 2021 at 4:50 PM Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com> wrote:
> strcpy() performs no bounds checking on the destination buffer. This
> could result in linear overflows beyond the end of the buffer, leading
> to all kinds of misbehaviors. So, use memcpy() as a safe replacement.
>
> This is a previous step in the path to remove the strcpy() function
> entirely from the kernel.
>
> Signed-off-by: Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com>

Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
i.e. will queue in renesas-devel for v5.15.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-11  9:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-08 12:50 [PATCH v4 0/3] drivers/soc: Remove all strcpy() uses Len Baker
2021-08-08 12:50 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] drivers/soc/qcom: Prefer strscpy over strcpy Len Baker
2021-08-08 12:50 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] drivers/soc/renesas: Prefer memcpy " Len Baker
2021-08-08 15:35   ` Bernd Petrovitsch
2021-08-08 17:06     ` Christophe JAILLET
2021-08-10 15:59       ` Len Baker
2021-08-11  9:38   ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2021-08-08 12:50 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] drivers/soc/ti: Prefer strscpy " Len Baker

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAMuHMdV7ZM9oZG-KU4Ap+H4YehnyGoZn+jsdiJ20GwMFNh+6uQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=len.baker@gmx.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=ssantosh@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 2/3] drivers/soc/renesas: Prefer memcpy over strcpy' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).