LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@chromium.org>
To: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
Cc: linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>, Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed
Date: Tue, 21 May 2019 20:42:48 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CANMq1KA1YF6B=nFizS8nT4KREASaJuaztdBnh_t0V8i0Fb-e6A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJMQK-iZRHO6HBkycPt0yz_vndmmmqFL0duHOcQ8EFSdhhFZcQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Tue, May 21, 2019 at 12:10 PM Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> On Mon, May 20, 2019 at 7:54 AM Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> > Alphabetical order.
> Original headers are not sorted, should I sort them here?
> >
>
> >
> > I'm a little bit concerned about this, as we really want the rng-seed
> > value to be wiped, and not kept in memory (even if it's hard to
> > access).
> >
> > IIUC, fdt_delprop splices the device tree, so it'll override
> > "rng-seed" property with whatever device tree entries follow it.
> > However, if rng-seed is the last property (or if the entries that
> > follow are smaller than rng-seed), the seed will stay in memory (or
> > part of it).
> >
> > fdt_nop_property in v2 would erase it for sure. I don't know if there
> > is a way to make sure that rng-seed is removed for good while still
> > deleting the property (maybe modify fdt_splice_ to do a memset(.., 0)
> > of the moved chunk?).
> >
> So maybe we can use fdt_nop_property() back?

Yes I prefer fdt_nop_property, if we don't want to modify delprop or
splice. But it'd be good if others can chime in.

  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-21 12:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-19 16:04 [PATCH v4 1/3] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-19 16:04 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-19 23:54   ` Nicolas Boichat
2019-05-21  4:09     ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-21 12:42       ` Nicolas Boichat [this message]
2019-05-19 16:04 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] arm64: kexec_file: add rng-seed support Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-19 23:57 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Nicolas Boichat
2019-05-24  0:04 ` Stephen Boyd
2019-05-25  9:30   ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-24 21:58 ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CANMq1KA1YF6B=nFizS8nT4KREASaJuaztdBnh_t0V8i0Fb-e6A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=drinkcat@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=labbott@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=yaojun8558363@gmail.com \
    --cc=yuzhao@google.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 2/3] fdt: add support for rng-seed' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).