LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
To: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] mm: Change return type to vm_fault_t
Date: Sat, 12 May 2018 19:51:17 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAPcyv4gYp4_9h1hsQOiHeEUX3TBZCsFWZkzrdcCi+YZ2QOKhxw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAFqt6zb9KzPw0ih3fOs6DNd3RCcy9GYmxZ607_w7obn0Kym7Kw@mail.gmail.com>

On Sat, May 12, 2018 at 12:14 PM, Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com> wrote:
>>> It'd be nicer to realign the 2nd and 3rd arguments
>>> on the subsequent lines.
>
>>>
>>>       vm_fault_t (*fault)(const struct vm_special_mapping *sm,
>>>                           struct vm_area_struct *vma,
>>>                           struct vm_fault *vmf);
>>>
>>
>
>> It'd be nicer if people didn't try to line up arguments at all and
>> just indented by an extra two tabs when they had to break a logical
>> line due to the 80-column limit.
>
> Matthew, there are two different opinions. Which one to take ?

Unfortunately this is one of those "maintainer's choice" preferences
that drives new contributors crazy. Just go with the two tabs like
Matthew said and be done.

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-13  2:51 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-12  6:17 Souptick Joarder
2018-05-12  6:20 ` Joe Perches
2018-05-12  6:25   ` Souptick Joarder
2018-05-12  6:26     ` Souptick Joarder
2018-05-12 14:24   ` Matthew Wilcox
2018-05-12 19:14     ` Souptick Joarder
2018-05-13  2:51       ` Dan Williams [this message]
2018-05-13  8:56         ` Joe Perches

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAPcyv4gYp4_9h1hsQOiHeEUX3TBZCsFWZkzrdcCi+YZ2QOKhxw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=jrdr.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3] mm: Change return type to vm_fault_t' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).