LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
To: Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	C Shapiro <shapiroc@chromium.org>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@chromium.org>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Alex Hung <alex.hung@canonical.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>,
	sayli karnik <karniksayli1995@gmail.com>,
	Sagar Dharia <sdharia@codeaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] firmware: dmi: Add access to the SKU ID string
Date: Wed, 25 Apr 2018 15:17:37 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAPnjgZ1ExEQHL8W2+k=+wS98O3CCX25dKngv_PFNvgAKVBD4Hw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180425025125.GH6014@localhost>

Hi Vinod,

On 24 April 2018 at 20:51, Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com> wrote:
> On Tue, Apr 24, 2018 at 03:11:11PM -0600, Simon Glass wrote:
>> This is used in some systems from user space for determining the identity
>> of the device.
>>
>> Expose this as a file so that that user-space tools don't need to read
>> from /sys/firmware/dmi/tables/DMI
>
> sysfs is an ABI and needs to be documented, I don't see that in this patch,
> pls add.

Thanks for taking a look. The only mention of the dmi/id I can find is
in Kconfig:

config DMIID
    bool "Export DMI identification via sysfs to userspace"
    depends on DMI
    default y
help
  Say Y here if you want to query SMBIOS/DMI system identification
  information from userspace through /sys/class/dmi/id/ or if you want
  DMI-based module auto-loading.


Are you suggesting that I create a list of the things in the /id node,
or something else?

Regards,
Simon

  reply	other threads:[~2018-04-25 21:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-24 21:11 Simon Glass
2018-04-25  2:51 ` Vinod Koul
2018-04-25 21:17   ` Simon Glass [this message]
2018-04-26  9:33     ` Vinod Koul
2018-04-26 11:01       ` Jean Delvare
2018-04-27  7:58 ` Jean Delvare
2018-04-27 19:12   ` Simon Glass

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAPnjgZ1ExEQHL8W2+k=+wS98O3CCX25dKngv_PFNvgAKVBD4Hw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=sjg@chromium.org \
    --cc=adurbin@chromium.org \
    --cc=alex.hung@canonical.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jdelvare@suse.com \
    --cc=karniksayli1995@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=sdharia@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=shapiroc@chromium.org \
    --cc=vinod.koul@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] firmware: dmi: Add access to the SKU ID string' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).