LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
To: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>,
	quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com, Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>,
	Sai Prakash Ranjan <saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org>,
	Veerabhadrarao Badiganti <vbadigan@codeaurora.org>,
	Linux MMC List <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	"list@263.net:IOMMU DRIVERS <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,"
	<iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@chromium.org>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>,
	Konrad Dybcio <konrad.dybcio@somainline.org>,
	Krishna Reddy <vdumpa@nvidia.com>,
	"Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@orcam.me.uk>,
	Nicolin Chen <nicoleotsuka@gmail.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC
Date: Thu, 8 Jul 2021 10:08:56 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YOaymBHc4g2cIfRn@8bytes.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAD=FV=W=HmgH3O3z+nThWL6U+X4Oh37COe-uTzVB9SanP2n86w@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Jul 07, 2021 at 01:00:13PM -0700, Doug Anderson wrote:
> a) Nothing is inherently broken with my current approach.
> 
> b) My current approach doesn't make anybody terribly upset even if
> nobody is totally in love with it.

Well, no, sorry :)

I don't think it is a good idea to allow drivers to opt-out of the
strict-setting. This is a platform or user decision, and the driver
should accept whatever it gets.

So the real question is still why strict is the default setting and how
to change that. Or document for the users that want performance how to
change the setting, so that they can decide.

Regards,

	Joerg


  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-08  8:09 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-24 17:17 Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] iommu: Add per-domain strictness and combine with the global default Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] iommu/arm-smmu: Check for strictness after calling impl->init_context() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] mmc: sdhci-msm: Request non-strict IOMMU mode Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 23:05   ` Doug Anderson
2021-06-25 13:18 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC Joerg Roedel
2021-06-25 14:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-07 20:00     ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-08  8:08       ` Joerg Roedel [this message]
2021-07-08 14:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-13 18:07           ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 15:14             ` Doug Anderson
2021-08-03  0:09               ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  0:34                 ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  8:19                 ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-09 13:56         ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:15           ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-14 10:29             ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:48               ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-09 19:21         ` Robin Murphy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YOaymBHc4g2cIfRn@8bytes.org \
    --to=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jordan@cosmicpenguin.net \
    --cc=konrad.dybcio@somainline.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=macro@orcam.me.uk \
    --cc=nicoleotsuka@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=sonnyrao@chromium.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vbadigan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=vdumpa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).