LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Wolfram Sang <wsa@kernel.org>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: "Claudiu Beznea" <Claudiu.Beznea@microchip.com>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"open list:REAL TIME CLOCK (RTC) SUBSYSTEM"
	<linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alessandro Zummo" <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	"Michael Turquette" <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	"Nicolas Ferre" <Nicolas.Ferre@microchip.com>,
	linux-spi <linux-spi@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Oleksij Rempel" <o.rempel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Ludovic Desroches" <Ludovic.Desroches@microchip.com>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Alexandru Ardelean" <aardelean@deviqon.com>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Jonathan Cameron" <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm Mailing List" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks
Date: Mon, 26 Jul 2021 19:40:47 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YP7zn8n8wpSW4Gek@kunai> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75VeT-EX6U3+Y7dxoWWRZ7NqAEiNgPGW8YGVmWTuZKB4j+Q@mail.gmail.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 694 bytes --]


> AFAICT in practice it's a mandatory requirement in I²C subsys (in the
> past you hadn't accepted a patch from us without a tag from the
> maintainer) which makes it equal to sending PR by a maintainer. PR

Right. I require a tag from the driver maintainer.

> makes less burden since subsys maintainer don't need to run many tools
> or a tool many times to get the pile of patches.

I had driver maintainers who found it difficult to have a public tree to
pull from or forgot how to send properly prepared pull requests. They
were happy to send Rev-by, though. And I am happy with that, too. At
least in I2C, picking up patches is small work compared to the actual
review.


[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 833 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-26 17:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210510174142.986250-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
     [not found] ` <20210609202123.u5rmw7al4x3rrvun@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]   ` <20210625171434.3xusxpxjprcdqa47@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]     ` <20210705080144.zfbzkm7l3gmnh6st@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]       ` <20210722060654.nudpdtemosi64nlb@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]         ` <YPkg0wtYIoHKpTUW@kunai>
     [not found]           ` <20210722081817.2tsjzof4gvldq6ka@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]             ` <YPlfcbkxiBmB+vw1@kunai>
     [not found]               ` <CAHp75VfC=s12Unw3+Cn0ag71mM5i90=Jbwj4nYwB5cPKiUTRSA@mail.gmail.com>
2021-07-23  9:13                 ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-26  9:18                   ` Claudiu.Beznea
2021-07-26  9:52                     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-26 12:32                       ` Wolfram Sang
2021-07-26 13:28                         ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-26 17:40                           ` Wolfram Sang [this message]
2021-07-28 20:25                     ` About clk maintainership [Was: Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks] Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-28 20:40                       ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-07-31  7:41                         ` Stephen Boyd
2021-07-31  8:07                           ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-31 12:00                           ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-02  9:36                             ` Jonathan Cameron
2021-08-02  9:48                             ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-02 15:27                               ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-02 16:38                                 ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-02 17:13                                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-02 20:28                                     ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-03  8:11                                   ` Stephen Boyd
2021-08-03 10:40                                     ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-06  0:26                                       ` Stephen Boyd
2021-09-14 13:22                                         ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-09-14 13:52                                           ` Mark Brown
2021-08-03  7:44                               ` Stephen Boyd

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YP7zn8n8wpSW4Gek@kunai \
    --to=wsa@kernel.org \
    --cc=Claudiu.Beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=Ludovic.Desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=Nicolas.Ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=aardelean@deviqon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=o.rempel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --subject='Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).