LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
To: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>,
	Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>,
	Tim Murray <timmurray@google.com>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	kernel-team <kernel-team@android.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call
Date: Fri, 6 Aug 2021 12:15:01 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQ0LpeeDuRPqEyir@dhcp22.suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CALvZod6k3Bm77xt4y=Mvf1Oi8XH25UJwLQaJaFNBFsBAcRuO_Q@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri 06-08-21 02:23:17, Shakeel Butt wrote:
> On Thu, Aug 5, 2021 at 11:40 PM Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> wrote:
> >
> [...]
> > I think you really want something like this:
> >
> >         if (flags)
> >                 return -EINVAL;
> >
> >         pid = pidfd_get_pid(fd, &f_flags);
> >         if (IS_ERR(pid))
> >                 return PTR_ERR(pid);
> >         task = get_pid_task(pid, PIDTYPE_PID);
> >         if (!task) {
> >                 ret = -ESRCH;
> >                 goto put_pid;
> >         }
> >
> >         /*
> >          * Make sure to chose a thread which still has a reference to mm
> >          * during the group exit
> >          */
> >         p = find_lock_task_mm(task);
> >         if (!p) {
> >                 ret = -ESRCH;
> >                 goto put_task;
> >         }
> >
> >         mm = task->mm;
> 
> mm = p->mm;

right. Thanks!

-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-06 10:15 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05 17:08 Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:08 ` [PATCH v7 2/2] mm: wire up syscall process_mrelease Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:29 ` [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call David Hildenbrand
2021-08-05 17:49   ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:55     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-08-05 17:56     ` Shakeel Butt
2021-08-05 18:37       ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-06  6:41         ` Michal Hocko
2021-08-06  6:40 ` Michal Hocko
2021-08-06  9:23   ` Shakeel Butt
2021-08-06 10:15     ` Michal Hocko [this message]
2021-08-06 16:07   ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-08 16:13     ` Suren Baghdasaryan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQ0LpeeDuRPqEyir@dhcp22.suse.cz \
    --to=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jengelh@inai.de \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=riel@surriel.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=timmurray@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).