LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
To: David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>
Cc: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>,
	linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org, Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>,
	Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>, Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>, Andrew Jones <drjones@redhat.com>,
	Ben Gardon <bgardon@google.com>, Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Ricardo Koller <ricarkol@google.com>,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Yanan Wang <wangyanan55@huawei.com>,
	Aaron Lewis <aaronlewis@google.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Peter Shier <pshier@google.com>,
	Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>,
	Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@intel.com>,
	"Maciej S. Szmigiero" <maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com>,
	Like Xu <like.xu@linux.intel.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL VIRTUAL MACHINE (KVM)" <kvm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs
Date: Tue, 27 Jul 2021 20:47:44 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQBw8BIcCAq5ybHr@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YP82iIe3vM/+fRAh@google.com>

On Mon, Jul 26, 2021, David Matlack wrote:
> On Mon, Jul 26, 2021 at 11:37:54AM -0700, Erdem Aktas wrote:
> > Currently vm_create function only creates KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM type VMs.
> > Changing the vm_create function to accept type parameter to create
> > new VM types.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>

*-by tags should not be added unless explicitly provided.  IIRC, our internal
gerrit will convert +1 to Reviewed-by, but I don't think that's the case here.
This applies to all patches in this series.

See "Using Reported-by:, Tested-by:, Reviewed-by:, Suggested-by: and Fixes:" in
Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst for more info.

> > Reviewed-by: Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>
> 
> Reviewed-by: David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>
> 
> (aside from the nit below)
> 
> > ---
> >  .../testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h  |  1 +
> >  tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c    | 29 +++++++++++++++++--
> >  2 files changed, 27 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> > 
> > diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> > index d53bfadd2..c63df42d6 100644
> > --- a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> > +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> > @@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ int vcpu_enable_cap(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t vcpu_id,
> >  void vm_enable_dirty_ring(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t ring_size);
> >  
> >  struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm);
> > +struct kvm_vm *__vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm, int type);
> 
> nit: Consider using a more readable function name such as
> vm_create_with_type().

Ha!  This is why I don't like doing internal reviews :-D

Erdem originally had vm_create_type(), I suggested __vm_create() as the double
underscore scheme is more common in the kernel for cases where there's a default
wrapper and an inner helper that implements the full API.

Convention aside, the argument againsts ...with_type() are that it doesn't scale,
e.g. if someone adds another parameter parameter for which vm_create() provides a
default, and it doesn't self-document the relationship between vm_create() and
the inner helper, e.g. by convention, based on names alone I know that vm_create()
likely is a wrapper around __vm_create().

Compare that with the existing

  vm_create_default_with_vcpus()
  vm_create_default()
  vm_create_with_vcpus()
  vm_create()

where the relationship between all the helpers is not immediately clear, and
vm_create_with_vcpus() is a misnomer because it does much more than call vm_create()
and instantiate vCPUs, e.g. it also instantiates the IRQ chip and loads the test
into guest memory.

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-27 20:47 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-26 18:37 [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:26   ` David Matlack
2021-07-27 20:47     ` Sean Christopherson [this message]
2021-07-28 16:07       ` David Matlack
2021-07-28 20:11         ` Andrew Jones
2021-08-04  6:09   ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:24     ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 14:42       ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:45         ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 20:29           ` Erdem Aktas
2021-08-04 23:31             ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 2/4] KVM: selftest: Add helper functions to create TDX VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 3/4] KVM: selftest: Adding TDX life cycle test Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:42   ` David Matlack
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 4/4] KVM: selftest: Adding test case for TDX port IO Erdem Aktas
2021-07-28  4:02 ` [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Duan, Zhenzhong

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQBw8BIcCAq5ybHr@google.com \
    --to=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=aaronlewis@google.com \
    --cc=axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --cc=bgardon@google.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=dmatlack@google.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=eesposit@redhat.com \
    --cc=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=like.xu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com \
    --cc=marcorr@google.com \
    --cc=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pgonda@google.com \
    --cc=pshier@google.com \
    --cc=ricarkol@google.com \
    --cc=sagis@google.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wangyanan55@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhenzhong.duan@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).