LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
To: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
Cc: Maxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@redhat.com>,
	Xiaoyao Li <xiaoyao.li@intel.com>,
	linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org, Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>,
	Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>, Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>, Andrew Jones <drjones@redhat.com>,
	Ben Gardon <bgardon@google.com>, Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>,
	Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Ricardo Koller <ricarkol@google.com>,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Yanan Wang <wangyanan55@huawei.com>,
	Aaron Lewis <aaronlewis@google.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Peter Shier <pshier@google.com>,
	Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>,
	Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@intel.com>,
	"Maciej S. Szmigiero" <maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com>,
	Like Xu <like.xu@linux.intel.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL VIRTUAL MACHINE (KVM)" <kvm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs
Date: Wed, 4 Aug 2021 23:31:15 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQsjQ5aJokV1HZ8N@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAAYXXYx_CFKBhFjqfz_wyh6bPPbWpTPCDfGmmLGqiugvfqA3Dg@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Aug 04, 2021, Erdem Aktas wrote:
> Thank you all for all that great feedback! I will include them in my v2.
> 
> On Wed, Aug 4, 2021 at 7:46 AM Maxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@redhat.com> wrote:
> >
> > > > > Can we pass KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM (whatever name when it's upstreamed)
> > > > > instead of 0?
> > > >
> I was originally thinking of doing this but Sean has suggested that we
> should use 0 to make it  arch-agnostic for creating default VMs.
> +Sean Christopherson : What do you think?

I hate passing '0', but KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM is worse because it's nonsensical for
other architectures.
 
> >
> > KVM_X86_NORMAL_VM is a very good name IMHO as well.

But that implies protected guests are abnormal!  And KVM_X86_STANDARD_VM would
imply protected guests are sub-standard!  I'm only half-joking, e.g. if we get
to the point where the majority of guests being run are protected guests, then
!protected guests are no longer the "standard".

Looking at other architectures, I think the least awful option is a generic
KVM_VM_TYPE_AUTO, or maybe KVM_VM_TYPE_DEFAULT.  That aligns with how '0' is used
by PPC, MIPS, and arm64[*], and would work for x86 as well without implying what's
normal/standard.

[*] arm64 uses the type to specify the IPA width (I'm not even sure what that is),
    but thankfully interprets '0' as a default.

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-04 23:31 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-26 18:37 [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:26   ` David Matlack
2021-07-27 20:47     ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-28 16:07       ` David Matlack
2021-07-28 20:11         ` Andrew Jones
2021-08-04  6:09   ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:24     ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 14:42       ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:45         ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 20:29           ` Erdem Aktas
2021-08-04 23:31             ` Sean Christopherson [this message]
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 2/4] KVM: selftest: Add helper functions to create TDX VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 3/4] KVM: selftest: Adding TDX life cycle test Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:42   ` David Matlack
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 4/4] KVM: selftest: Adding test case for TDX port IO Erdem Aktas
2021-07-28  4:02 ` [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Duan, Zhenzhong

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQsjQ5aJokV1HZ8N@google.com \
    --to=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=aaronlewis@google.com \
    --cc=axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --cc=bgardon@google.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=dmatlack@google.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=eesposit@redhat.com \
    --cc=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=like.xu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com \
    --cc=marcorr@google.com \
    --cc=mlevitsk@redhat.com \
    --cc=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pgonda@google.com \
    --cc=pshier@google.com \
    --cc=ricarkol@google.com \
    --cc=sagis@google.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wangyanan55@huawei.com \
    --cc=xiaoyao.li@intel.com \
    --cc=zhenzhong.duan@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).