LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mete Polat <metepolat2000@gmail.com>
To: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Lukas Bulwahn <lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com>,
	Michel Lespinasse <michel@lespinasse.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Mete Polat <metepolat2000@gmail.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper@jni.nu>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] rbtree: remove unneeded explicit alignment in struct rb_node
Date: Thu, 5 Aug 2021 19:20:26 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQwd2puXiSiUWEE1@precision> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <50ad4c8b848bd371b4b42959167ef03d@suse.de>

On Thu, Aug 05, 2021 at 08:02:28AM -0700, Davidlohr Bueso wrote:
> On 2021-08-05 07:02, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> > The revert would appear to change the alignment to 16 bits instead
> > of 32 bits on m68k as well (not 8 bits as on cris), but I don't know if
> > that
> > can cause problems there.
> 
> Yeah I tried this a while back and it broke m68k, so it was a no go:
> 
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/CAMuHMdXeZvJ0X6Ah2CpLRoQJm+YhxAWBt-rUpxoyfOLTcHp+0g@mail.gmail.com/

The problem is that the field '__rb_parent_color' in struct rb_node is
storing the color AND the pointer to the parent node at the same time.
The color is stored in the least significant bit which is fine when
rb_node is at least 16-bit aligned. I guess, it does not work on m68k
because the makro

#define __rb_parent(pc)    ((struct rb_node *)(pc & ~3))

used to retrieve the parent pointer zeros the first two bits, not only
the first one.

Maybe the effiency to store this one color bit in another field was
required in the early days but I think moving the color to a seperate
field is really the better way to go. It also makes reasoning about the
algorithm easier.

I will create a patch.

Mete
> 
> Thanks, Davidlohr

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05 17:20 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05 13:32 Lukas Bulwahn
2021-08-05 14:02 ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-05 14:14   ` Lukas Bulwahn
2021-08-05 15:02   ` Davidlohr Bueso
2021-08-05 15:10     ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-05 17:20     ` Mete Polat [this message]
2021-08-06  8:52       ` Michel Lespinasse
2021-08-06 11:57         ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-10 22:46   ` Jesper Nilsson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQwd2puXiSiUWEE1@precision \
    --to=metepolat2000@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=dbueso@suse.de \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=jesper@jni.nu \
    --cc=kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lukas.bulwahn@gmail.com \
    --cc=michel@lespinasse.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] rbtree: remove unneeded explicit alignment in struct rb_node' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).