LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
To: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>,
	Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>,
	Tim Murray <timmurray@google.com>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	kernel-team <kernel-team@android.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call
Date: Fri, 6 Aug 2021 08:41:44 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQzZqFwDP7eUxwcn@dhcp22.suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJuCfpEgXh96WEpqn5aPE8mmmpW28j4KHoBkDQN-ob0vNOVHoQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu 05-08-21 11:37:06, Suren Baghdasaryan wrote:
[...]
> > One question I have is why mmget() and not mmgrab()? I see mmgrab() in
> > oom_kill.c.
> 
> You are likely right here. The caller's context probably can't be
> considered a "real user" when reaping the mm. However, we take an
> mmap_lock shortly after, so not sure if in practice there is much
> difference.
> Michal, WDYT?

As explained in other response. mmget is to pin address space to not go
away. You do not need that for this purpose. All you need is to pin mm
to not go away. Address space can be unmapped concurrently.
-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-06  6:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05 17:08 Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:08 ` [PATCH v7 2/2] mm: wire up syscall process_mrelease Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:29 ` [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call David Hildenbrand
2021-08-05 17:49   ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-05 17:55     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-08-05 17:56     ` Shakeel Butt
2021-08-05 18:37       ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-06  6:41         ` Michal Hocko [this message]
2021-08-06  6:40 ` Michal Hocko
2021-08-06  9:23   ` Shakeel Butt
2021-08-06 10:15     ` Michal Hocko
2021-08-06 16:07   ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-08-08 16:13     ` Suren Baghdasaryan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQzZqFwDP7eUxwcn@dhcp22.suse.cz \
    --to=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jengelh@inai.de \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=riel@surriel.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=timmurray@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] mm: introduce process_mrelease system call' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).