LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Josh Don <joshdon@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Vineeth Pillai <vineethrp@gmail.com>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Tao Zhou <tao.zhou@linux.dev>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] sched/core: fix pick_next_task 'max' tracking
Date: Tue, 24 Aug 2021 10:55:23 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YSSz+wSVrf6jAw8Q@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CABk29Ns-aiSjf8WTWL5U0ggKr32NKC3Q6ANJ8MheDP5P-k_JuA@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Aug 23, 2021 at 04:24:26PM -0700, Josh Don wrote:
> Hi Peter,
> 
> On Mon, Aug 23, 2021 at 4:17 AM Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> wrote:
> [snip]
> > +       for_each_cpu(i, smt_mask) {
> > +               rq_i = cpu_rq(i);
> > +               p = rq_i->core_temp;
> >
> > -                       /*
> > -                        * If this sibling doesn't yet have a suitable task to
> > -                        * run; ask for the most eligible task, given the
> > -                        * highest priority task already selected for this
> > -                        * core.
> > -                        */
> > -                       p = pick_task(rq_i, class, max, fi_before);
> > +               if (!cookie_equals(p, cookie)) {
> > +                       p = NULL;
> > +                       if (cookie)
> > +                               p = sched_core_find(rq_i, cookie);
> 
> In the case that 'max' has a zero cookie, shouldn't we search for a
> match on this cpu if the original class pick ('p') had a non-zero
> cookie? We don't enqueue tasks with zero cookie in the core_tree, so I
> forget if there was some other reasoning here.

IIRC we don't keep 0-cookies in the tree. Lemme check.

Yeah, see sched_core_enqueue(), they bail for 0-cookie.

This is indeed sub-optimal, but also having the 0-cookie tasks in the
tree has other issues IIRC.

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-24  8:55 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-18  0:56 Josh Don
2021-08-18  4:35 ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-18 15:18   ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-23 11:16 ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-23 15:38   ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-23 20:25   ` Vineeth Pillai
2021-08-23 22:57     ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-24  9:03     ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-24  9:38       ` [PATCH] sched/core: Simplify core-wide task selection Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-24 12:15         ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-24 17:40         ` Josh Don
2021-08-24 18:28         ` Vineeth Pillai
2021-09-09 11:18         ` [tip: sched/core] " tip-bot2 for Peter Zijlstra
2021-10-05 14:12         ` tip-bot2 for Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-23 23:24   ` [PATCH] sched/core: fix pick_next_task 'max' tracking Josh Don
2021-08-24  3:01     ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-24  8:55     ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YSSz+wSVrf6jAw8Q@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=joshdon@google.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tao.zhou@linux.dev \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=vineethrp@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] sched/core: fix pick_next_task '\''max'\'' tracking' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).