LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Tao Zhou <tao.zhou@linux.dev>
To: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, tao.zhou@linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH] sched: Fix get_push_task() vs migrate_disable()
Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2021 06:53:51 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YSgbfyLdkEApqsoI@geo.homenetwork> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <87k0k82dzq.ffs@tglx>

Hi Thomas,

On Thu, Aug 26, 2021 at 09:38:17PM +0200, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> Tao,
> 
> On Fri, Aug 27 2021 at 00:24, Tao Zhou wrote:
> > On Thu, Aug 26, 2021 at 03:37:38PM +0200, Sebastian Andrzej Siewior wrote:
> >> diff --git a/kernel/sched/sched.h b/kernel/sched/sched.h
> >> index e205b63d6db07..32a4945730a9b 100644
> >> --- a/kernel/sched/sched.h
> >> +++ b/kernel/sched/sched.h
> >> @@ -2259,6 +2259,9 @@ static inline struct task_struct *get_push_task(struct rq *rq)
> >>  	if (p->nr_cpus_allowed == 1)
> >>  		return NULL;
> >>  
> >> +	if (p->migration_disabled)
> >> +		return NULL;
> >
> > Not much I can restore here..
> >
> > Is is_migration_disabled(p) be more correct to check migration
> > disable.
> 
> Kinda, but it's not an issue here because get_push_task() is only available when
> CONFIG_SMP=y which makes p->migration_disabled available as well.
> 
> > And get_push_task() being called in pull_rt_task() has checked migration
> > disable first and then call get_push_task(). That means this check in
> > get_push_task() in patch is a second repeatly check.
> 
> No. The checks are for two different tasks...

Aha, yes. I lost here. Thanks for your reply.

> Thanks,
> 
>         tglx



Thanks,
Tao

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-26 22:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-26 13:37 Sebastian Andrzej Siewior
2021-08-26 16:24 ` Tao Zhou
2021-08-26 19:38   ` Thomas Gleixner
2021-08-26 22:53     ` Tao Zhou [this message]
2021-08-26 16:56 ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-08-26 17:07 ` [tip: sched/urgent] " tip-bot2 for Sebastian Andrzej Siewior

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YSgbfyLdkEApqsoI@geo.homenetwork \
    --to=tao.zhou@linux.dev \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] sched: Fix get_push_task() vs migrate_disable()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).