LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>, Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>, Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>,
	Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Alexandru Elisei <alexandru.elisei@arm.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Wanpeng Li <wanpengli@tencent.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>, Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu, linux-csky@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, kvm@vger.kernel.org,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	Artem Kashkanov <artem.kashkanov@intel.com>,
	Like Xu <like.xu.linux@gmail.com>,
	Zhu Lingshan <lingshan.zhu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 05/13] perf: Force architectures to opt-in to guest callbacks
Date: Thu, 16 Sep 2021 22:30:45 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YUPFlb6r1udRKcBH@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210828194752.GC4353@worktop.programming.kicks-ass.net>

On Sat, Aug 28, 2021, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> On Fri, Aug 27, 2021 at 05:35:50PM -0700, Sean Christopherson wrote:
> > diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
> > index 55f9f7738ebb..9ef51ae53977 100644
> > --- a/init/Kconfig
> > +++ b/init/Kconfig
> > @@ -1776,6 +1776,9 @@ config HAVE_PERF_EVENTS
> >  	help
> >  	  See tools/perf/design.txt for details.
> >  
> > +config HAVE_GUEST_PERF_EVENTS
> > +	bool
> 	depends on HAVE_KVM
> 
> ?

Ah, nice!  We can go even further to:

	depends on HAVE_PERF_EVENTS && HAVE_KVM

though I'm pretty sure all architectures that select HAVE_KVM also select
HAVE_PERF_EVENTS.

Huh.  arm64 doesn't select HAVE_KVM even though it selects almost literally every
other HAVE_KVM_* config.  arm64 has some other weirdness with CONFIG_KVM, I'll add
a patch or two to fix that stuff and amend this patch as above.

Thanks again!

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-16 22:30 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-28  0:35 [PATCH v2 00/13] perf: KVM: Fix, optimize, and clean up callbacks Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 01/13] perf: Ensure perf_guest_cbs aren't reloaded between !NULL check and deref Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28 19:44   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-09-16 21:41     ` Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 02/13] KVM: x86: Register perf callbacks after calling vendor's hardware_setup() Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 03/13] KVM: x86: Register Processor Trace interrupt hook iff PT enabled in guest Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 04/13] perf: Stop pretending that perf can handle multiple guest callbacks Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 05/13] perf: Force architectures to opt-in to " Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28 19:47   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-09-16 22:30     ` Sean Christopherson [this message]
2021-09-21 16:44     ` Paolo Bonzini
2021-09-21 21:29       ` Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 06/13] perf/core: Rework guest callbacks to prepare for static_call support Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 07/13] perf/core: Use static_call to optimize perf_guest_info_callbacks Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 08/13] KVM: x86: Drop current_vcpu for kvm_running_vcpu + kvm_arch_vcpu variable Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 09/13] KVM: x86: More precisely identify NMI from guest when handling PMI Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 10/13] KVM: Move x86's perf guest info callbacks to generic KVM Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 11/13] KVM: x86: Move Intel Processor Trace interrupt handler to vmx.c Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 12/13] KVM: arm64: Convert to the generic perf callbacks Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28  0:35 ` [PATCH v2 13/13] KVM: arm64: Drop perf.c and fold its tiny bits of code into arm.c / pmu.c Sean Christopherson
2021-08-28 20:13 ` [PATCH v2 00/13] perf: KVM: Fix, optimize, and clean up callbacks Peter Zijlstra
2021-09-16 21:37   ` Sean Christopherson
2021-09-17  7:28     ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-09-17 16:53       ` Sean Christopherson
2021-09-20 12:05       ` Paolo Bonzini
2021-09-20 12:22         ` Marc Zyngier
2021-09-20 13:18           ` Paolo Bonzini
2021-09-20 13:40             ` Marc Zyngier
2021-09-20 18:22               ` Paolo Bonzini

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YUPFlb6r1udRKcBH@google.com \
    --to=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexandru.elisei@arm.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=artem.kashkanov@intel.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=like.xu.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=lingshan.zhu@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-csky@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=nickhu@andestech.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wanpengli@tencent.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 05/13] perf: Force architectures to opt-in to guest callbacks' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).