LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
To: Martin Kelly <martin@martingkelly.com>, linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Tejun Heo" <tj@kernel.org>, "Li Zefan" <lizefan@huawei.com>,
	"Johannes Weiner" <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	"Stephen Hemminger" <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"Jonathan Cameron" <jic23@kernel.org>,
	"Pali Rohár" <pali.rohar@gmail.com>,
	"Richard Purdie" <rpurdie@rpsys.net>,
	"Jacek Anaszewski" <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>,
	"Pavel Machek" <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Robert Moore" <robert.moore@intel.com>,
	"Lv Zheng" <lv.zheng@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Valentina Manea" <valentina.manea.m@gmail.com>,
	"Shuah Khan" <shuahkh@osg.samsung.com>,
	"Shuah Khan" <shuah@kernel.org>,
	"Mario Limonciello" <mario.limonciello@dell.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] tools: fix cross-compile var clobbering
Date: Wed, 4 Apr 2018 15:20:33 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <cc9e8b57-b2e0-91a5-aa9f-9488c78a9860@suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180107214028.23771-1-martin@martingkelly.com>

On 01/07/2018, 10:40 PM, Martin Kelly wrote:
> From: Martin Kelly <martin@martingkelly.com>
...
> --- a/tools/power/acpi/Makefile.config
> +++ b/tools/power/acpi/Makefile.config
> @@ -56,9 +56,6 @@ INSTALL_SCRIPT = ${INSTALL_PROGRAM}
>  # to compile vs uClibc, that can be done here as well.
>  CROSS = #/usr/i386-linux-uclibc/usr/bin/i386-uclibc-
>  CROSS_COMPILE ?= $(CROSS)
> -CC = $(CROSS_COMPILE)gcc
> -LD = $(CROSS_COMPILE)gcc

This one makes difference -- acpi is special. This used to be:
LD = gcc

Now it is:
LD = ld

And due to that, we get:
ld: unrecognized option '-D_LINUX'

Should we do:
LD = $(CC)

or fix this elsewhere differently?

thanks,
-- 
js
suse labs

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-04 13:20 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-01-06 20:16 [PATCH] tools: fix cross-compile var export Martin Kelly
2018-01-07 16:11 ` Paul Gortmaker
2018-01-07 18:31   ` Martin Kelly
2018-01-07 18:51     ` Martin Kelly
2018-01-08 11:45       ` Dan Carpenter
2018-01-07 19:04     ` Paul Gortmaker
2018-01-07 21:43       ` Martin Kelly
2018-01-07 21:40 ` [PATCH v2] tools: fix cross-compile var clobbering Martin Kelly
2018-01-08 11:22   ` Mark Brown
2018-04-04 13:20   ` Jiri Slaby [this message]
2018-04-04 16:31     ` Martin Kelly
2018-04-24  7:43       ` [PATCH 1/1] tools: power/acpi, revert to LD = gcc Jiri Slaby
2018-04-24 16:38         ` Martin Kelly
2018-04-30  8:00         ` Rafael J. Wysocki

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cc9e8b57-b2e0-91a5-aa9f-9488c78a9860@suse.cz \
    --to=jslaby@suse.cz \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com \
    --cc=jic23@kernel.org \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lizefan@huawei.com \
    --cc=lv.zheng@intel.com \
    --cc=mario.limonciello@dell.com \
    --cc=martin@martingkelly.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=pali.rohar@gmail.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=robert.moore@intel.com \
    --cc=rpurdie@rpsys.net \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=shuahkh@osg.samsung.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=valentina.manea.m@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2] tools: fix cross-compile var clobbering' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).