LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@google.com>,
	Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>,
	Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@arm.com>,
	Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com>,
	Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@arm.com>,
	Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com>
Subject: [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2018 20:53:09 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com> (raw)

Hi!

arm64 has a feature called Top Byte Ignore, which allows to embed pointer
tags into the top byte of each pointer. Userspace programs (such as
HWASan, a memory debugging tool [1]) might use this feature and pass
tagged user pointers to the kernel through syscalls or other interfaces.

This patch makes a few of the kernel interfaces accept tagged user
pointers. The kernel is already able to handle user faults with tagged
pointers and has the untagged_addr macro, which this patchset reuses.

We're not trying to cover all possible ways the kernel accepts user
pointers in one patchset, so this one should be considered as a start.

Thanks!

[1] http://clang.llvm.org/docs/HardwareAssistedAddressSanitizerDesign.html

Changes in v1:
- Rebased onto 4.17-rc1.

Changes in RFC v2:
- Added "#ifndef untagged_addr..." fallback in linux/uaccess.h instead of
  defining it for each arch individually.
- Updated Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt.
- Dropped “mm, arm64: untag user addresses in memory syscalls”.
- Rebased onto 3eb2ce82 (4.16-rc7).

Andrey Konovalov (6):
  arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro
  uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches
  arm64: untag user addresses in copy_from_user and others
  mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c
  lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user
  arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt

 Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt |  5 +++--
 arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h        |  9 +++++++--
 include/linux/uaccess.h                 |  4 ++++
 lib/strncpy_from_user.c                 |  2 ++
 lib/strnlen_user.c                      |  2 ++
 mm/gup.c                                | 12 ++++++++++++
 6 files changed, 30 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

-- 
2.17.0.484.g0c8726318c-goog

             reply	other threads:[~2018-04-18 18:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-18 18:53 Andrey Konovalov [this message]
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 1/6] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 3/6] arm64: untag user addresses in copy_from_user and others Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 15:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 15:29     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 14:38     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-02 15:36       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-02 17:25         ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:09           ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 15:24             ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-03 16:51               ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-08 15:11           ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-11 12:36             ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 6/6] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-19  9:33 ` [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-04-25 14:45   ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:56     ` Catalin Marinas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com \
    --to=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=Jacob.Bramley@arm.com \
    --cc=Lee.Smith@arm.com \
    --cc=Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com \
    --cc=Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=bart.vanassche@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eugenis@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kcc@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).