LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
To: Rafael Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Cristian Marussi <cristian.marussi@arm.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Lukasz Luba <lukasz.luba@arm.com>,
	Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH V2 0/9] cpufreq: Auto-register with energy model
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2021 17:28:38 +0530	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <cover.1628682874.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org> (raw)

Many cpufreq drivers register with the energy model for each policy and
do exactly the same thing. Follow the footsteps of thermal-cooling, to
get it done from the cpufreq core itself.

Provide a new callback, which will be called, if present, by the cpufreq
core at the right moment (more on that in the code's comment). Also
provide a generic implementation that uses dev_pm_opp_of_register_em().

This also allows us to register with the EM at a later point of time,
compared to ->init(), from where the EM core can access cpufreq policy
directly using cpufreq_cpu_get() type of helpers and perform other work,
like marking few frequencies inefficient, this will be done separately.

This is build/boot tested by the bot for a couple of boards.

https://gitlab.com/vireshk/pmko/-/pipelines/351525873

Note that I haven't picked any of the Reviewed-by tags from the first version
since the idea is very much changed here.

V1->V2:
- Add a callback instead of flag.
- Register before governor is initialized.
- Update scmi driver as well.
- Don't unregister from the EM core.

--
Viresh

Viresh Kumar (9):
  cpufreq: Auto-register with energy model if asked
  cpufreq: dt: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: imx6q: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: mediatek: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: omap: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: qcom-cpufreq-hw: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: scpi: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: vexpress: Use auto-registration for energy model
  cpufreq: scmi: Use .register_em() callback

 drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq-dt.c           |  3 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq.c              | 12 ++++++
 drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c        |  2 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/mediatek-cpufreq.c     |  3 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/omap-cpufreq.c         |  2 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/qcom-cpufreq-hw.c      |  3 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/scmi-cpufreq.c         | 55 +++++++++++++++-----------
 drivers/cpufreq/scpi-cpufreq.c         |  3 +-
 drivers/cpufreq/vexpress-spc-cpufreq.c |  3 +-
 include/linux/cpufreq.h                | 14 +++++++
 10 files changed, 65 insertions(+), 35 deletions(-)

-- 
2.31.1.272.g89b43f80a514


             reply	other threads:[~2021-08-11 12:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-11 11:58 Viresh Kumar [this message]
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 1/9] cpufreq: Auto-register with energy model if asked Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 13:02   ` Quentin Perret
2021-08-11 14:30   ` Lukasz Luba
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 2/9] cpufreq: dt: Use auto-registration for energy model Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 3/9] cpufreq: imx6q: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 4/9] cpufreq: mediatek: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 5/9] cpufreq: omap: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 6/9] cpufreq: qcom-cpufreq-hw: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 7/9] cpufreq: scpi: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 8/9] cpufreq: vexpress: " Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 11:58 ` [PATCH V2 9/9] cpufreq: scmi: Use .register_em() callback Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 13:17   ` Quentin Perret
2021-08-11 14:09     ` Lukasz Luba
2021-08-11 14:39       ` Quentin Perret
2021-08-11 15:52         ` Lukasz Luba
2021-08-12  3:53     ` Viresh Kumar
2021-08-11 16:32   ` Lukasz Luba
2021-08-12  4:22     ` Viresh Kumar

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1628682874.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --to=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=cristian.marussi@arm.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=khilman@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lukasz.luba@arm.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=qperret@google.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH V2 0/9] cpufreq: Auto-register with energy model' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).