LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>
To: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@chromium.org>,
	Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas@ndufresne.ca>,
	Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@collabora.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the HEVC slice pixel format
Date: Sat, 25 May 2019 13:36:26 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <de925df1-e15e-6293-31b5-b046060e7359@xs4all.nl> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190524093635.1832-4-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>

On 5/24/19 11:36 AM, Paul Kocialkowski wrote:
> Document the current state of the HEVC slice pixel format.
> The format will need to evolve in the future, which is why it is
> not part of the public API.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
> ---
>  .../media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst      | 21 +++++++++++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 21 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
> index 4b701fc7653e..9d4195723c3e 100644
> --- a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
> +++ b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
> @@ -143,6 +143,27 @@ Compressed Formats
>        - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC``
>        - 'HEVC'
>        - HEVC/H.265 video elementary stream.
> +    * .. _V4L2-PIX-FMT-HEVC-SLICE:
> +
> +      - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC_SLICE``
> +      - 'S265'
> +      - HEVC parsed slice data, as extracted from the HEVC bitstream.
> +	This format is adapted for stateless video decoders that implement a
> +	HEVC pipeline (using the :ref:`codec` and :ref:`media-request-api`).

Should be :ref:`mem2mem`.

Regards,

	Hans

> +	Metadata associated with the frame to decode is required to be passed
> +	through the following controls :
> +        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SPS``
> +        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_PPS``
> +        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SLICE_PARAMS``
> +	See the :ref:`associated Codec Control IDs <v4l2-mpeg-hevc>`.
> +	Buffers associated with this pixel format must contain the appropriate
> +	number of macroblocks to decode a full corresponding frame.
> +
> +	.. note::
> +
> +	   This format is not yet part of the public kernel API and it
> +	   is expected to change.
> +
>      * .. _V4L2-PIX-FMT-FWHT:
>  
>        - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_FWHT``
> 


  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-25 11:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-24  9:36 [PATCH v5 0/4] HEVC/H.265 stateless support for V4L2 and Cedrus Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 1/4] media: v4l: Add definitions for the HEVC slice controls Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:08   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-25 12:46     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:43   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 2/4] media: pixfmt: Add HEVC slice pixel format Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 12:51   ` Jernej Škrabec
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the " Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:36   ` Hans Verkuil [this message]
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 4/4] media: cedrus: Add HEVC/H.265 decoding support Paul Kocialkowski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=de925df1-e15e-6293-31b5-b046060e7359@xs4all.nl \
    --to=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=acourbot@chromium.org \
    --cc=boris.brezillon@collabora.com \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas@ndufresne.ca \
    --cc=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the HEVC slice pixel format' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).