LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Xiaoyao Li <xiaoyao.li@intel.com>
To: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>,
	Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>, Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>,
	Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>, Andrew Jones <drjones@redhat.com>,
	Ben Gardon <bgardon@google.com>, Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>,
	Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Ricardo Koller <ricarkol@google.com>,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Yanan Wang <wangyanan55@huawei.com>,
	Aaron Lewis <aaronlewis@google.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Peter Shier <pshier@google.com>,
	Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>,
	Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@intel.com>,
	"Maciej S. Szmigiero" <maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com>,
	Like Xu <like.xu@linux.intel.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL VIRTUAL MACHINE (KVM)" <kvm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs
Date: Wed, 4 Aug 2021 14:09:26 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <e1651746-aa46-31e7-e1c0-99f3faaf1586@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210726183816.1343022-2-erdemaktas@google.com>

On 7/27/2021 2:37 AM, Erdem Aktas wrote:
> Currently vm_create function only creates KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM type VMs.
> Changing the vm_create function to accept type parameter to create
> new VM types.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
> Reviewed-by: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
> Reviewed-by: Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>
> Reviewed-by: Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>
> Reviewed-by: Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>
> ---
>   .../testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h  |  1 +
>   tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c    | 29 +++++++++++++++++--
>   2 files changed, 27 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> index d53bfadd2..c63df42d6 100644
> --- a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
> @@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ int vcpu_enable_cap(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t vcpu_id,
>   void vm_enable_dirty_ring(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t ring_size);
>   
>   struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm);
> +struct kvm_vm *__vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm, int type);
>   void kvm_vm_free(struct kvm_vm *vmp);
>   void kvm_vm_restart(struct kvm_vm *vmp, int perm);
>   void kvm_vm_release(struct kvm_vm *vmp);
> diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
> index e5fbf16f7..70caa3882 100644
> --- a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
> +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
> @@ -180,13 +180,36 @@ _Static_assert(sizeof(vm_guest_mode_params)/sizeof(struct vm_guest_mode_params)
>    * Return:
>    *   Pointer to opaque structure that describes the created VM.
>    *
> - * Creates a VM with the mode specified by mode (e.g. VM_MODE_P52V48_4K).
> + * Wrapper VM Create function to create a VM with default type (0).

Can we pass KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM (whatever name when it's upstreamed) 
instead of 0?

> + */
> +struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm)
> +{
> +	return __vm_create(mode, phy_pages, perm, 0);
> +}
> +



  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-04  6:09 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-26 18:37 [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:26   ` David Matlack
2021-07-27 20:47     ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-28 16:07       ` David Matlack
2021-07-28 20:11         ` Andrew Jones
2021-08-04  6:09   ` Xiaoyao Li [this message]
2021-08-04 14:24     ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 14:42       ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:45         ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 20:29           ` Erdem Aktas
2021-08-04 23:31             ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 2/4] KVM: selftest: Add helper functions to create TDX VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 3/4] KVM: selftest: Adding TDX life cycle test Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:42   ` David Matlack
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 4/4] KVM: selftest: Adding test case for TDX port IO Erdem Aktas
2021-07-28  4:02 ` [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Duan, Zhenzhong

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=e1651746-aa46-31e7-e1c0-99f3faaf1586@intel.com \
    --to=xiaoyao.li@intel.com \
    --cc=aaronlewis@google.com \
    --cc=axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --cc=bgardon@google.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=dmatlack@google.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=eesposit@redhat.com \
    --cc=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=like.xu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com \
    --cc=marcorr@google.com \
    --cc=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pgonda@google.com \
    --cc=pshier@google.com \
    --cc=ricarkol@google.com \
    --cc=sagis@google.com \
    --cc=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wangyanan55@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhenzhong.duan@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).