LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
To: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Ville Syrjälä" <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	"Imre Deak" <imre.deak@intel.com>,
	"Chris Wilson" <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	"Ben Widawsky" <ben@bwidawsk.net>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	lkp@01.org
Subject: Re: [i915] WARNING: CPU: 2 PID: 183 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c:14584 intel_modeset_init+0x3be/0x1060
Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2018 16:39:30 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <e7cee8ae-f3b4-f342-f381-8ed48809148e@linux.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180419110505.wy47nheshalanxek@wfg-t540p.sh.intel.com>

Op 19-04-18 om 13:05 schreef Fengguang Wu:
> Hi Maarten,
>
>> What extra dmesg output do you get when you boot with drm.debug=0x1f ?
>
> Attached is the dmesg with drm.debug=0x1f.
>
> Thanks,
> Fengguang

Ah so we're inheriting the FB 2x, once with 1280x1024, other with 1366x768:

kern  :debug : [   74.880444] [drm:i9xx_get_initial_plane_config [i915]] pipe A/primary A with fb: size=1366x768@32, offset=61000, pitch 5504, size 0x408000
kern  :debug : [   74.881187] [drm:i915_gem_object_create_stolen_for_preallocated [i915]] creating preallocated stolen object: stolen_offset=0x0000000000061000, gtt_offset=0x0000000000061000, size=0x0000000000408000
kern  :debug : [   74.882197] [drm:intel_alloc_initial_plane_obj.isra.126 [i915]] initial plane fb obj 000000005efa24f9

kern  :debug : [   74.883532] [drm:i9xx_get_initial_plane_config [i915]] pipe B/primary B with fb: size=1280x1024@32, offset=61000, pitch 5504, size 0x560000
kern  :debug : [   74.884260] [drm:i915_gem_object_create_stolen_for_preallocated [i915]] creating preallocated stolen object: stolen_offset=0x0000000000061000, gtt_offset=0x0000000000061000, size=0x0000000000560000
kern  :debug : [   74.885295] [drm:i915_gem_object_create_stolen_for_preallocated [i915]] failed to allocate stolen space

Which of course fails, but should be an interesting case to handle right. :)

~Maarten

      reply	other threads:[~2018-04-19 14:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-19  2:52 Fengguang Wu
2018-04-19  6:42 ` Maarten Lankhorst
2018-04-19 11:05   ` Fengguang Wu
2018-04-19 14:39     ` Maarten Lankhorst [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=e7cee8ae-f3b4-f342-f381-8ed48809148e@linux.intel.com \
    --to=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=ben@bwidawsk.net \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=fengguang.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=imre.deak@intel.com \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lkp@01.org \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [i915] WARNING: CPU: 2 PID: 183 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c:14584 intel_modeset_init+0x3be/0x1060' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).