LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Saeed Mahameed <saeed@kernel.org>
To: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>, Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Tariq Toukan <ttoukan.linux@gmail.com>,
	Tariq Toukan <tariqt@nvidia.com>
Cc: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@intel.com>,
	Marcin Kubiak <marcin.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Netanel Belgazal <netanel@amazon.com>,
	Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@amazon.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Saeed Bishara <saeedb@amazon.com>,
	Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@kernel.org>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>, KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	Shay Agroskin <shayagr@amazon.com>,
	Sameeh Jubran <sameehj@amazon.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	Danielle Ratson <danieller@nvidia.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vladyslav Tarasiuk <vladyslavt@nvidia.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jian Shen <shenjian15@huawei.com>,
	Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@gmail.com>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@ti.com>,
	Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@nxp.com>, Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@suse.cz>,
	Zheng Yongjun <zhengyongjun3@huawei.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org, bpf@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics
Date: Wed, 04 Aug 2021 19:14:09 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <fd2121df712574a240cd56060a138a5686e81b94.camel@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <4b2358e1-a802-b0ab-129d-1432f49c46ec@gmail.com>

On Wed, 2021-08-04 at 18:43 -0600, David Ahern wrote:
> On 8/4/21 12:27 PM, Saeed Mahameed wrote:
> > 
> > > I just ran some quick tests with my setup and measured about 1.2%
> > > worst
> > 
> > 1.2% is a lot ! what was the test ? what is the change ?
> 
> I did say "quick test ... not exhaustive" and it was definitely
> eyeballing a pps change over a small time window.
> 
> If multiple counters are bumped 20-25 million times a second (e.g.
> XDP
> drop case), how measurable is it? I was just trying to ballpark the
> overhead - 1%, 5%, more? If it is <~ 1% then there is no performance
> argument in which case let's do the right thing for users - export
> via
> existing APIs.

from experience I don't believe it can be more than 1% and yes on
existing APIs !


  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05  2:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 45+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 16:36 [PATCH net-next 00/21] ethtool, stats: introduce and use standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 01/21] ethtool, stats: use a shorthand pointer in stats_prepare_data() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 02/21] ethtool, stats: add compile-time checks for standard stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 20:49   ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-03 23:57     ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-04 12:36       ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 15:53         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 16:57           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-05 11:18             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-05 13:31               ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 16:17         ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 16:44           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 17:28             ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 18:27               ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-05  0:43                 ` David Ahern
2021-08-05  2:14                   ` Saeed Mahameed [this message]
2021-08-12 12:19             ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-10-26  9:23       ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-05 16:44         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 11:37           ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen
2021-11-08 13:21             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 18:09               ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 04/21] ethernet, dpaa2: simplify per-channel Ethtool stats counting Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 05/21] ethernet, dpaa2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 06/21] ethernet, ena: constify src and syncp args of ena_safe_update_stat() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 07/21] ethernet, ena: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 13:04   ` Shay Agroskin
2021-08-04 15:24     ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 08/21] ethernet, enetc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 09/21] ethernet, mvneta: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 10/21] ethernet, mvneta: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 11/21] ethernet, mvpp2: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 12/21] ethernet, mvpp2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 13/21] ethernet, sfc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 17:59   ` Edward Cree
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 14/21] veth: rename rx_drops to xdp_errors Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 15/21] veth: rename xdp_xmit_errors to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 16/21] veth: rename drop xdp_ suffix from packets and bytes stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 17/21] veth: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 18/21] virtio-net: rename xdp_tx{,__drops} SQ stats to xdp_xmit{,__drops} Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 19/21] virtio-net: don't mix error-caused drops with XDP_DROP cases Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 20/21] virtio-net: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 21/21] Documentation, ethtool-netlink: update standard statistics documentation Alexander Lobakin

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=fd2121df712574a240cd56060a138a5686e81b94.camel@kernel.org \
    --to=saeed@kernel.org \
    --cc=akiyano@amazon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=alexandr.lobakin@intel.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=danieller@nvidia.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmurphy@ti.com \
    --cc=dsahern@gmail.com \
    --cc=ecree.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=hawk@kernel.org \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukasz.czapnik@intel.com \
    --cc=marcin.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.swiatkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=mkubecek@suse.cz \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=netanel@amazon.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=petr.vorel@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeedb@amazon.com \
    --cc=sameehj@amazon.com \
    --cc=shayagr@amazon.com \
    --cc=shenjian15@huawei.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=tariqt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=ttoukan.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vladyslavt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=yangbo.lu@nxp.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhengyongjun3@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).