Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@intel.com>
Cc: "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Giovanni Cabiddu" <giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com>,
	"Rafał Miłecki" <zajec5@gmail.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Alexander Duyck" <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Sathya Prakash" <sathya.prakash@broadcom.com>,
	oss-drivers@corigine.com, "Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>,
	"Russell Currey" <ruscur@russell.cc>,
	"Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Boris Ostrovsky" <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Herbert Xu" <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Ido Schimmel" <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, qat-linux@intel.com,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Mathias Nyman" <mathias.nyman@intel.com>,
	"Yisen Zhuang" <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	"Fiona Trahe" <fiona.trahe@intel.com>,
	"Andrew Donnellan" <ajd@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk" <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>,
	"Suganath Prabu Subramani"
	<suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com>,
	"Simon Horman" <simon.horman@corigine.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>, "Michael Buesch" <m@bues.ch>,
	"Jiri Pirko" <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	"Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Salil Mehta" <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	"Sreekanth Reddy" <sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com>,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	"Vadym Kochan" <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	"Wojciech Ziemba" <wojciech.ziemba@intel.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Taras Chornyi" <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	"Zhou Wang" <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, kernel@pengutronix.de,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, "Frederic Barrat" <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 0/5] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver
Date: Fri, 30 Jul 2021 19:48:20 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210730174820.i6ycjyvyzxcxwxsc@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YQOy/OTvY66igEoe@smile.fi.intel.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 1952 bytes --]

Hi Andy,

On Fri, Jul 30, 2021 at 11:06:20AM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Thu, Jul 29, 2021 at 10:37:35PM +0200, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > struct pci_dev tracks the bound pci driver twice. This series is about
> > removing this duplication.
> > 
> > The first two patches are just cleanups. The third patch introduces a
> > wrapper that abstracts access to struct pci_dev->driver. In the next
> > patch (hopefully) all users are converted to use the new wrapper and
> > finally the fifth patch removes the duplication.
> > 
> > Note this series is only build tested (allmodconfig on several
> > architectures).
> > 
> > I'm open to restructure this series if this simplifies things. E.g. the
> > use of the new wrapper in drivers/pci could be squashed into the patch
> > introducing the wrapper. Patch 4 could be split by maintainer tree or
> > squashed into patch 3 completely.
> 
> I see only patch 4 and this cover letter...

The full series is available at

	https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/20210729203740.1377045-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de/

All patches but #4 only touch drivers/pci/ (and include/linux/pci.h) and
it seemed excessive to me to send all patches to all people. It seems at
least for you I balanced this wrongly. The short version is that patch
#3 introduces

	+#define pci_driver_of_dev(pdev) ((pdev)->driver)

which allows to do the stuff done in patch #4 and then patch #5 does

	-#define pci_driver_of_dev(pdev) ((pdev)->driver)
	+#define pci_driver_of_dev(pdev) ((pdev)->dev.driver ? to_pci_driver((pdev)->dev.driver) : NULL)

plus some cleanups.

If you want I can send you a bounce (or you try

	b4 am 20210729203740.1377045-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de

).

Best regards and thanks for caring,
Uwe

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           | Uwe Kleine-König            |
Industrial Linux Solutions                 | https://www.pengutronix.de/ |

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

      reply	other threads:[~2021-07-30 17:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29 20:37 Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-29 20:37 ` [PATCH v1 4/5] PCI: Adapt all code locations to not use struct pci_dev::driver directly Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-30 20:37   ` Boris Ostrovsky
2021-07-31 12:08     ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-02 13:06       ` Boris Ostrovsky
2021-07-30  5:14 ` [PATCH v1 0/5] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-07-30  8:06 ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-30 17:48   ` Uwe Kleine-König [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210730174820.i6ycjyvyzxcxwxsc@pengutronix.de \
    --to=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ajd@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=fbarrat@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=fiona.trahe@intel.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=m@bues.ch \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=oss-drivers@corigine.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qat-linux@intel.com \
    --cc=ruscur@russell.cc \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sathya.prakash@broadcom.com \
    --cc=simon.horman@corigine.com \
    --cc=sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wojciech.ziemba@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zajec5@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 0/5] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev'\''s bound driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox