Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
To: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@intel.com>,
	Marcin Kubiak <marcin.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Netanel Belgazal <netanel@amazon.com>,
	Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@amazon.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Saeed Bishara <saeedb@amazon.com>,
	Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@kernel.org>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>, KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	Shay Agroskin <shayagr@amazon.com>,
	Sameeh Jubran <sameehj@amazon.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	Danielle Ratson <danieller@nvidia.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vladyslav Tarasiuk <vladyslavt@nvidia.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jian Shen <shenjian15@huawei.com>,
	Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@gmail.com>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@ti.com>,
	Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@nxp.com>, Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@suse.cz>,
	Zheng Yongjun <zhengyongjun3@huawei.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org, bpf@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics
Date: Tue, 3 Aug 2021 13:49:00 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210803134900.578b4c37@kicinski-fedora-pc1c0hjn.dhcp.thefacebook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210803163641.3743-4-alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>

On Tue,  3 Aug 2021 18:36:23 +0200 Alexander Lobakin wrote:
> Most of the driver-side XDP enabled drivers provide some statistics
> on XDP programs runs and different actions taken (number of passes,
> drops, redirects etc.).

Could you please share the statistics to back that statement up?
Having uAPI for XDP stats is pretty much making the recommendation 
that drivers should implement such stats. The recommendation from
Alexei and others back in the day (IIRC) was that XDP programs should
implement stats, not the drivers, to avoid duplication.

> Regarding that it's almost pretty the same across all the drivers
> (which is obvious), we can implement some sort of "standardized"
> statistics using Ethtool standard stats infra to eliminate a lot
> of code and stringsets duplication, different approaches to count
> these stats and so on.

I'm not 100% sold on the fact that these should be ethtool stats. 
Why not rtnl_fill_statsinfo() stats? Current ethtool std stats are 
all pretty Ethernet specific, and all HW stats. Mixing HW and SW stats
is what we're trying to get away from.

> These new 12 fields provided by the standard XDP stats should cover
> most, if not all, stats that might be interesting for collecting and
> tracking.
> Note that most NIC drivers keep XDP statistics on a per-channel
> basis, so this also introduces a new callback for getting a number
> of channels which a driver will provide stats for. If it's not
> implemented or returns 0, it means stats are global/device-wide.

Per-channel stats via std ethtool stats are not a good idea. Per queue
stats must be via the queue netlink interface we keep talking about for
ever but which doesn't seem to materialize. When stats are reported via
a different interface than objects they pertain to matching stats,
objects and their lifetime becomes very murky.

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03 20:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 45+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 16:36 [PATCH net-next 00/21] ethtool, stats: introduce and use standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 01/21] ethtool, stats: use a shorthand pointer in stats_prepare_data() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 02/21] ethtool, stats: add compile-time checks for standard stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 20:49   ` Jakub Kicinski [this message]
2021-08-03 23:57     ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-04 12:36       ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 15:53         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 16:57           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-05 11:18             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-05 13:31               ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 16:17         ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 16:44           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 17:28             ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 18:27               ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-05  0:43                 ` David Ahern
2021-08-05  2:14                   ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-12 12:19             ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-10-26  9:23       ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-05 16:44         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 11:37           ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen
2021-11-08 13:21             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 18:09               ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 04/21] ethernet, dpaa2: simplify per-channel Ethtool stats counting Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 05/21] ethernet, dpaa2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 06/21] ethernet, ena: constify src and syncp args of ena_safe_update_stat() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 07/21] ethernet, ena: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 13:04   ` Shay Agroskin
2021-08-04 15:24     ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 08/21] ethernet, enetc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 09/21] ethernet, mvneta: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 10/21] ethernet, mvneta: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 11/21] ethernet, mvpp2: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 12/21] ethernet, mvpp2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 13/21] ethernet, sfc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 17:59   ` Edward Cree
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 14/21] veth: rename rx_drops to xdp_errors Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 15/21] veth: rename xdp_xmit_errors to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 16/21] veth: rename drop xdp_ suffix from packets and bytes stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 17/21] veth: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 18/21] virtio-net: rename xdp_tx{,__drops} SQ stats to xdp_xmit{,__drops} Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 19/21] virtio-net: don't mix error-caused drops with XDP_DROP cases Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 20/21] virtio-net: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 21/21] Documentation, ethtool-netlink: update standard statistics documentation Alexander Lobakin

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210803134900.578b4c37@kicinski-fedora-pc1c0hjn.dhcp.thefacebook.com \
    --to=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=akiyano@amazon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=alexandr.lobakin@intel.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=danieller@nvidia.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmurphy@ti.com \
    --cc=ecree.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=hawk@kernel.org \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukasz.czapnik@intel.com \
    --cc=marcin.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.swiatkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=mkubecek@suse.cz \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=netanel@amazon.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=petr.vorel@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeedb@amazon.com \
    --cc=sameehj@amazon.com \
    --cc=shayagr@amazon.com \
    --cc=shenjian15@huawei.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vladyslavt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=yangbo.lu@nxp.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhengyongjun3@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).