Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
To: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
Cc: "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Giovanni Cabiddu" <giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com>,
	"Rafał Miłecki" <zajec5@gmail.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alexander Duyck" <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	"Russell Currey" <ruscur@russell.cc>,
	x86@kernel.org, oss-drivers@corigine.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, "Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Taras Chornyi" <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Herbert Xu" <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Sathya Prakash" <sathya.prakash@broadcom.com>,
	qat-linux@intel.com,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Yisen Zhuang" <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	"Suganath Prabu Subramani"
	<suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com>,
	"Fiona Trahe" <fiona.trahe@intel.com>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>,
	"Andrew Donnellan" <ajd@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Mathias Nyman" <mathias.nyman@intel.com>,
	"Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk" <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>,
	"Ido Schimmel" <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Frederic Barrat" <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>, "Michael Buesch" <m@bues.ch>,
	"Jiri Pirko" <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	"Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Boris Ostrovsky" <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	"Andy Shevchenko" <andriy.shevchenko@intel.com>,
	"Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Salil Mehta" <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	"Sreekanth Reddy" <sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com>,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	"Vadym Kochan" <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	"Zhou Wang" <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, kernel@pengutronix.de,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Simon Horman" <simon.horman@corigine.com>,
	"Wojciech Ziemba" <wojciech.ziemba@intel.com>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver
Date: Sat, 7 Aug 2021 11:26:45 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210807092645.52kn4ustyjudztvl@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210806212452.GA1867870@bjorn-Precision-5520>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 3796 bytes --]

On Fri, Aug 06, 2021 at 04:24:52PM -0500, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
> On Fri, Aug 06, 2021 at 08:46:23AM +0200, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > On Thu, Aug 05, 2021 at 06:42:34PM -0500, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
> 
> > > I looked at all the bus_type.probe() methods, it looks like pci_dev is
> > > not the only offender here.  At least the following also have a driver
> > > pointer in the device struct:
> > > 
> > >   parisc_device.driver
> > >   acpi_device.driver
> > >   dio_dev.driver
> > >   hid_device.driver
> > >   pci_dev.driver
> > >   pnp_dev.driver
> > >   rio_dev.driver
> > >   zorro_dev.driver
> > 
> > Right, when I converted zorro_dev it was pointed out that the code was
> > copied from pci and the latter has the same construct. :-)
> > See
> > https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210730191035.1455248-5-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de
> > for the patch, I don't find where pci was pointed out, maybe it was on
> > irc only.
> 
> Oh, thanks!  I looked to see if you'd done something similar
> elsewhere, but I missed this one.
> 
> > > Looking through the places that care about pci_dev.driver (the ones
> > > updated by patch 5/6), many of them are ... a little dubious to begin
> > > with.  A few need the "struct pci_error_handlers *err_handler"
> > > pointer, so that's probably legitimate.  But many just need a name,
> > > and should probably be using dev_driver_string() instead.
> > 
> > Yeah, I considered adding a function to get the driver name from a
> > pci_dev and a function to get the error handlers. Maybe it's an idea to
> > introduce these two and then use to_pci_driver(pdev->dev.driver) for the
> > few remaining users? Maybe doing that on top of my current series makes
> > sense to have a clean switch from pdev->driver to pdev->dev.driver?!
> 
> I'd propose using dev_driver_string() for these places:
> 
>   eeh_driver_name() (could change callers to use dev_driver_string())
>   bcma_host_pci_probe()
>   qm_alloc_uacce()
>   hns3_get_drvinfo()
>   prestera_pci_probe()
>   mlxsw_pci_probe()
>   nfp_get_drvinfo()
>   ssb_pcihost_probe()

So the idea is:

	PCI: Simplify pci_device_remove()
	PCI: Drop useless check from pci_device_probe()
	xen/pci: Drop some checks that are always true

are kept as is as preparation. (Do you want to take them from this v2,
or should I include them again in v3?)

Then convert the list of functions above to use dev_driver_string() in a
4th patch.

> The use in mpt_device_driver_register() looks unnecessary: it's only
> to get a struct pci_device_id *, which is passed to ->probe()
> functions that don't need it.

This is patch #5.

> The use in adf_enable_aer() looks wrong: it sets the err_handler
> pointer in one of the adf_driver structs.  I think those structs
> should be basically immutable, and the drivers that call
> adf_enable_aer() from their .probe() methods should set
> ".err_handler = &adf_err_handler" in their static adf_driver
> definitions instead.

I don't understand that one without some research, probably this yields
at least one patch.

> I think that basically leaves these:
> 
>   uncore_pci_probe()     # .id_table, custom driver "registration"
>   match_id()             # .id_table, arch/x86/kernel/probe_roms.c
>   xhci_pci_quirks()      # .id_table
>   pci_error_handlers()   # roll-your-own AER handling, drivers/misc/cxl/guest.c
> 
> I think it would be fine to use to_pci_driver(pdev->dev.driver) for
> these few.

Converting these will be patch 7 then and patch 8 can then drop the
duplicated handling.

Sounds reasonable?

Best regards
Uwe

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           | Uwe Kleine-König            |
Industrial Linux Solutions                 | https://www.pengutronix.de/ |

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-07  9:28 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 10:01 Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 10:01 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] PCI: Provide wrapper to access " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 14:37   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-03 10:01 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] PCI: Adapt all code locations to not use struct pci_dev::driver directly Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 13:53   ` Boris Ostrovsky
2021-08-03 14:38   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-03 14:46   ` Ido Schimmel
2021-08-05 15:09   ` Andrew Donnellan
2021-08-03 10:01 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-05 23:42 ` [PATCH v2 0/6] " Bjorn Helgaas
2021-08-06  6:46   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-06 21:24     ` Bjorn Helgaas
2021-08-07  9:26       ` Uwe Kleine-König [this message]
2021-08-09 18:14         ` Bjorn Helgaas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210807092645.52kn4ustyjudztvl@pengutronix.de \
    --to=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ajd@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=fbarrat@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=fiona.trahe@intel.com \
    --cc=giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=m@bues.ch \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=oss-drivers@corigine.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qat-linux@intel.com \
    --cc=ruscur@russell.cc \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sathya.prakash@broadcom.com \
    --cc=simon.horman@corigine.com \
    --cc=sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wojciech.ziemba@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zajec5@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev'\''s bound driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).