Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com>
To: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@intel.com>,
	Michael Sit Wei Hong <michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset
Date: Thu, 26 Aug 2021 19:50:14 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210826115014.GA5112@linux.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YRPcyHTc2FJeEoqk@lunn.ch>

On Wed, Aug 11, 2021 at 04:20:56PM +0200, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > > BIOS does configured the SerDes. The problem here is that all the
> > > configurations done by BIOS are being reset at xpcs_create().
> > > 
> > > We would want user of the pcs-xpcs module (stmmac, sja1105) to have
> > > control whether or not we need to perform to the soft reset in the
> > > xpcs_create() call.
> > 
> > I understood Andrew's response as suggesting to introduce the ability for
> > xpcs_create() to make a BIOS call which would configure the SerDes after
> > xpcs_soft_reset().
> 
> Yes. Exactly. That is what ACPI is for, so we should use it for this.
> 
>      Andrew

Thanks Florian for the explaination.

I have checked with the BIOS developers and they did not implmenet a
method to this at the kernel level.

Also, Intel AlderLake has both UEFI BIOS and Slim Bootloader which
make it least feasible to go for the ACPI method as per suggested.


Regards,
  VK

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-26 11:50 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 10:22 [PATCH net-next 0/2] Intel AlderLake-S 2.5Gbps link speed support Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 11:06   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-08-10 23:50     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 13:35   ` Andrew Lunn
2021-08-10 23:55     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-11  8:36       ` Florian Fainelli
2021-08-11 14:20         ` Andrew Lunn
2021-08-26 11:50           ` Wong Vee Khee [this message]
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] stmmac: intel: Enable 2.5Gbps on Intel AlderLake-S Wong Vee Khee

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210826115014.GA5112@linux.intel.com \
    --to=vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=weifeng.voon@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).