Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@huawei.com>
To: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@gmail.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Cc: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <jbrouer@redhat.com>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>,
	David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Russell King - ARM Linux" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>, <linuxarm@openeuler.org>,
	<yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>, Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	<thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>, <hawk@kernel.org>,
	Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	"Matthew Wilcox" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>, <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	<guro@fb.com>, Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	"Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Matteo Croce <mcroce@microsoft.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>,
	Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@pm.me>,
	"Willem de Bruijn" <willemb@google.com>, <wenxu@ucloud.cn>,
	Cong Wang <cong.wang@bytedance.com>,
	Kevin Hao <haokexin@gmail.com>, <nogikh@google.com>,
	Marco Elver <elver@google.com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>,
	<kpsingh@kernel.org>, <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@vger.kernel.org>,
	<chenhao288@hisilicon.com>, Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>
Subject: Re: [Linuxarm] Re: [PATCH net-next v2 0/4] add frag page support in page pool
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2021 09:06:16 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <6e34a281-4082-15b7-e355-20b8bc97f427@huawei.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAKgT0Uc7fRGDjQZf_pPNW2AN5yspkqTc8v9Sj8_zbBP_Tq1-gw@mail.gmail.com>

On 2021/8/10 23:09, Alexander Duyck wrote:
> On Tue, Aug 10, 2021 at 7:43 AM Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org> wrote:
>>
>> On Tue, 10 Aug 2021 16:23:52 +0200 Jesper Dangaard Brouer wrote:
>>> On 10/08/2021 16.01, Jakub Kicinski wrote:
>>>> On Fri, 6 Aug 2021 10:46:18 +0800 Yunsheng Lin wrote:
>>>>> enable skb's page frag recycling based on page pool in
>>>>> hns3 drvier.
>>>>
>>>> Applied, thanks!
>>>
>>> I had hoped to see more acks / reviewed-by before this got applied.
>>> E.g. from MM-people as this patchset changes struct page and page_pool
>>> (that I'm marked as maintainer of).
>>
>> Sorry, it was on the list for days and there were 7 or so prior
>> versions, I thought it was ripe. If possible, a note that review
>> will come would be useful.
>>
>>> And I would have appreciated an reviewed-by credit to/from Alexander
>>> as he did a lot of work in the RFC patchset for the split-page tricks.

Yeah, the credit goes to Ilias, Matteo, Matthew too, the patchset from them
paves the path for supporting the skb frag page recycling.

>>
>> I asked him off-list, he said something I interpreted as "code is okay,
>> but the review tag is not coming".
> 
> Yeah, I ran out of feedback a revision or two ago and just haven't had
> a chance to go through and add my reviewed by. If you want feel free
> to add my reviewed by for the set.
> 
> Reviewed-by: Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@fb.com>

Yeah, thanks for the time and patient for reviewing this patchset.

By the way, I am still trying to implement the tx recycling mentioned
in the other thread, which seems more controversial than rx recycling
as tx recycling may touch the tcp/ip and socket layer. So it would be
good have your opinion about that idea or implemention too:)

> _______________________________________________
> Linuxarm mailing list -- linuxarm@openeuler.org
> To unsubscribe send an email to linuxarm-leave@openeuler.org
> 

      reply	other threads:[~2021-08-11  1:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-06  2:46 Yunsheng Lin
2021-08-06  2:46 ` [PATCH net-next v2 1/4] page_pool: keep pp info as long as page pool owns the page Yunsheng Lin
2021-08-06  2:46 ` [PATCH net-next v2 2/4] page_pool: add interface to manipulate frag count in page pool Yunsheng Lin
2021-08-10 14:58   ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-08-11  0:48     ` Yunsheng Lin
2021-08-12 15:17   ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-08-06  2:46 ` [PATCH net-next v2 3/4] page_pool: add frag page recycling support " Yunsheng Lin
2021-08-06  2:46 ` [PATCH net-next v2 4/4] net: hns3: support skb's frag page recycling based on " Yunsheng Lin
2021-09-08  8:31   ` moyufeng
2021-09-08 15:08     ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-09-08 15:26       ` Ilias Apalodimas
2021-09-08 15:57         ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-09-08 16:47           ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-09-08 16:51           ` Ilias Apalodimas
2022-01-26 14:30   ` Jean-Philippe Brucker
2022-01-28  4:00     ` Yunsheng Lin
2022-01-28  9:21       ` Jean-Philippe Brucker
2022-01-29  8:44         ` Yunsheng Lin
2022-02-03  9:48           ` Jean-Philippe Brucker
2022-02-07  2:54             ` Yunsheng Lin
2022-03-24 18:09               ` Jean-Philippe Brucker
2021-08-10 14:01 ` [PATCH net-next v2 0/4] add frag page support in " Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-10 14:23   ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-08-10 14:43     ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-10 15:09       ` Alexander Duyck
2021-08-11  1:06         ` Yunsheng Lin [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=6e34a281-4082-15b7-e355-20b8bc97f427@huawei.com \
    --to=linyunsheng@huawei.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.duyck@gmail.com \
    --cc=alobakin@pm.me \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=brouer@redhat.com \
    --cc=chenhao288@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=cong.wang@bytedance.com \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=haokexin@gmail.com \
    --cc=hawk@kernel.org \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org \
    --cc=jbrouer@redhat.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathan.lemon@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxarm@openeuler.org \
    --cc=mcroce@microsoft.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nogikh@google.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=wenxu@ucloud.cn \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willemb@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [Linuxarm] Re: [PATCH net-next v2 0/4] add frag page support in page pool' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).