Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Colin King <colin.king@canonical.com>,
	Arend van Spriel <aspriel@gmail.com>,
	Franky Lin <franky.lin@broadcom.com>,
	Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@broadcom.com>,
	Chi-hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@infineon.com>,
	Wright Feng <wright.feng@infineon.com>,
	Chung-hsien Hsu <chung-hsien.hsu@infineon.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	linux-wireless <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>,
	brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com,
	SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com, netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH][next] brcmfmac: firmware: Fix uninitialized variable ret
Date: Thu, 05 Aug 2021 16:53:54 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <875ywkc80d.fsf@codeaurora.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdZ5u-C8uH2pCr1689v_ndyzqevDDksXvtPYv=FfD=x_xg@mail.gmail.com> (Linus Walleij's message of "Tue, 3 Aug 2021 21:14:07 +0200")

Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> writes:

> On Tue, Aug 3, 2021 at 5:09 PM Colin King <colin.king@canonical.com> wrote:
>
>> From: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
>>
>> Currently the variable ret is uninitialized and is only set if
>> the pointer alt_path is non-null. Fix this by ininitializing ret
>> to zero.
>>
>> Addresses-Coverity: ("Uninitialized scalar variable")
>> Fixes: 5ff013914c62 ("brcmfmac: firmware: Allow per-board firmware binaries")
>> Signed-off-by: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
>
> Nice catch!
> Reviewed-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

I assume this will be fixed by Linus' patch "brcmfmac: firmware: Fix
firmware loading" and I should drop Colin's patch, correct?

-- 
https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/linux-wireless/list/

https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/developers/documentation/submittingpatches

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05 13:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 15:09 Colin King
2021-08-03 19:14 ` Linus Walleij
2021-08-05 13:53   ` Kalle Valo [this message]
2021-08-06 11:23     ` Arend van Spriel
2021-08-06 11:28       ` Colin Ian King
2021-08-06 12:35         ` Kalle Valo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=875ywkc80d.fsf@codeaurora.org \
    --to=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com \
    --cc=aspriel@gmail.com \
    --cc=brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=chi-hsien.lin@infineon.com \
    --cc=chung-hsien.hsu@infineon.com \
    --cc=colin.king@canonical.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=franky.lin@broadcom.com \
    --cc=hante.meuleman@broadcom.com \
    --cc=kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=wright.feng@infineon.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH][next] brcmfmac: firmware: Fix uninitialized variable ret' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).