Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrii Nakryiko <andrii.nakryiko@gmail.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>,
	Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	Florent Revest <revest@chromium.org>,
	Alan Maguire <alan.maguire@oracle.com>,
	Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@vger.kernel.org>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] bpf: fix pointer cast warning
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2021 14:45:42 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAEf4BzavhrBKZHKpZctJt=K=8A0f77qr_W0OdPjqCNgDshjFog@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210721212007.3876595-1-arnd@kernel.org>

On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 2:20 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>
> kp->addr is a pointer, so it cannot be cast directly to a 'u64'
> when it gets interpreted as an integer value:
>
> kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c: In function '____bpf_get_func_ip_kprobe':
> kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c:968:21: error: cast from pointer to integer of different size [-Werror=pointer-to-int-cast]
>   968 |         return kp ? (u64) kp->addr : 0;
>
> Use the uintptr_t type instead.
>
> Fixes: 9ffd9f3ff719 ("bpf: Add bpf_get_func_ip helper for kprobe programs")
> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> ---

I'll take this through the bpf-next tree, if no one objects. Thanks for the fix!


>  kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c b/kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c
> index 0de09f068697..a428d1ef0085 100644
> --- a/kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c
> +++ b/kernel/trace/bpf_trace.c
> @@ -965,7 +965,7 @@ BPF_CALL_1(bpf_get_func_ip_kprobe, struct pt_regs *, regs)
>  {
>         struct kprobe *kp = kprobe_running();
>
> -       return kp ? (u64) kp->addr : 0;
> +       return kp ? (uintptr_t)kp->addr : 0;
>  }
>
>  static const struct bpf_func_proto bpf_get_func_ip_proto_kprobe = {
> --
> 2.29.2
>

      reply	other threads:[~2021-07-21 21:45 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-21 21:19 Arnd Bergmann
2021-07-21 21:45 ` Andrii Nakryiko [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAEf4BzavhrBKZHKpZctJt=K=8A0f77qr_W0OdPjqCNgDshjFog@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=andrii.nakryiko@gmail.com \
    --cc=alan.maguire@oracle.com \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=revest@chromium.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next] bpf: fix pointer cast warning' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).