Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matteo Croce <mcroce@linux.microsoft.com>
To: Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@huawei.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	alexander.duyck@gmail.com, Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	linuxarm@openeuler.org, yisen.zhuang@huawei.com,
	salil.mehta@huawei.com,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@kernel.org>,
	Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>,
	Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	feng.tang@intel.com, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Matteo Croce <mcroce@microsoft.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>,
	Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@pm.me>,
	Willem de Bruijn <willemb@google.com>, wenxu <wenxu@ucloud.cn>,
	Cong Wang <cong.wang@bytedance.com>,
	Kevin Hao <haokexin@gmail.com>,
	Aleksandr Nogikh <nogikh@google.com>,
	Marco Elver <elver@google.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH rfc v2 0/5] add elevated refcnt support for page pool
Date: Sat, 10 Jul 2021 17:40:53 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAFnufp3RXwrJy24r50dHG6ouM2tsGY3JgPq9h1B5C0TOYCDHrQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1625903002-31619-1-git-send-email-linyunsheng@huawei.com>

On Sat, Jul 10, 2021 at 9:44 AM Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@huawei.com> wrote:
>
> This patchset adds elevated refcnt support for page pool
> and enable skb's page frag recycling based on page pool
> in hns3 drvier.
>
> RFC v2:
> 1. Split patch 1 to more reviewable one.
> 2. Repurpose the lower 12 bits of the dma address to store the
>    pagecnt_bias as suggested by Alexander.
> 3. support recycling to pool->alloc for elevated refcnt case
>    too.
>
> Yunsheng Lin (5):
>   page_pool: keep pp info as long as page pool owns the page
>   page_pool: add interface for getting and setting pagecnt_bias
>   page_pool: add page recycling support based on elevated refcnt
>   page_pool: support page frag API for page pool
>   net: hns3: support skb's frag page recycling based on page pool
>
>  drivers/net/ethernet/hisilicon/hns3/hns3_enet.c |  79 ++++++++++-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/hisilicon/hns3/hns3_enet.h |   3 +
>  drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/mvneta.c           |   6 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/mvpp2/mvpp2_main.c |   2 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw.c                  |   2 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw_new.c              |   2 +-
>  include/linux/skbuff.h                          |   4 +-
>  include/net/page_pool.h                         |  50 +++++--
>  net/core/page_pool.c                            | 172 ++++++++++++++++++++----
>  9 files changed, 266 insertions(+), 54 deletions(-)
>
> --
> 2.7.4
>

For mvpp2:

Tested-by: Matteo Croce <mcroce@microsoft.com>

-- 
per aspera ad upstream

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-10 15:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-10  7:43 Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10  7:43 ` [PATCH rfc v2 1/5] page_pool: keep pp info as long as page pool owns the page Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10  7:43 ` [PATCH rfc v2 2/5] page_pool: add interface for getting and setting pagecnt_bias Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10 16:55   ` Alexander Duyck
2021-07-12  7:44     ` Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10  7:43 ` [PATCH rfc v2 3/5] page_pool: add page recycling support based on elevated refcnt Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10 17:24   ` Alexander Duyck
2021-07-12  7:54     ` Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10 17:31   ` Alexander Duyck
2021-07-12  2:06     ` Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-12  3:30       ` Alexander Duyck
2021-07-10  7:43 ` [PATCH rfc v2 4/5] page_pool: support page frag API for page pool Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10 17:43   ` Alexander Duyck
2021-07-12  7:57     ` Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10  7:43 ` [PATCH rfc v2 5/5] net: hns3: support skb's frag page recycling based on " Yunsheng Lin
2021-07-10 15:40 ` Matteo Croce [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAFnufp3RXwrJy24r50dHG6ouM2tsGY3JgPq9h1B5C0TOYCDHrQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=mcroce@linux.microsoft.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.duyck@gmail.com \
    --cc=alobakin@pm.me \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=cong.wang@bytedance.com \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=haokexin@gmail.com \
    --cc=hawk@kernel.org \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathan.lemon@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxarm@openeuler.org \
    --cc=linyunsheng@huawei.com \
    --cc=mcroce@microsoft.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nogikh@google.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=wenxu@ucloud.cn \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willemb@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH rfc v2 0/5] add elevated refcnt support for page pool' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).