Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
To: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>
Cc: Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>,
	Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	Lars Povlsen <lars.povlsen@microchip.com>,
	Steen Hegelund <Steen.Hegelund@microchip.com>,
	Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>, Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	Roopa Prabhu <roopa@nvidia.com>,
	Nikolay Aleksandrov <nikolay@nvidia.com>,
	Linux Kernel Functional Testing <lkft@linaro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] net: build all switchdev drivers as modules when the bridge is a module
Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2021 16:47:25 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a2HGm7MyUc3N1Vjdb2inS6D3E3HDq4bNTOBaHZQCP9kwA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210726142536.1223744-1-vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>

On Mon, Jul 26, 2021 at 4:28 PM Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com> wrote:
>
> Currently, all drivers depend on the bool CONFIG_NET_SWITCHDEV, but only
> the drivers that call some sort of function exported by the bridge, like
> br_vlan_enabled() or whatever, have an extra dependency on CONFIG_BRIDGE.
>
> Since the blamed commit, all switchdev drivers have a functional
> dependency upon switchdev_bridge_port_{,un}offload(), which is a pair of
> functions exported by the bridge module and not by the bridge-independent
> part of CONFIG_NET_SWITCHDEV.
>
> Problems appear when we have:
>
> CONFIG_BRIDGE=m
> CONFIG_NET_SWITCHDEV=y
> CONFIG_TI_CPSW_SWITCHDEV=y
>
> because cpsw, am65_cpsw and sparx5 will then be built-in but they will
> call a symbol exported by a loadable module. This is not possible and
> will result in the following build error:
>
> drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw_new.o: in function `cpsw_netdevice_event':
> drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw_new.c:1520: undefined reference to
>                                         `switchdev_bridge_port_offload'
> drivers/net/ethernet/ti/cpsw_new.c:1537: undefined reference to
>                                         `switchdev_bridge_port_unoffload'
>
> As mentioned, the other switchdev drivers don't suffer from this because
> switchdev_bridge_port_offload() is not the first symbol exported by the
> bridge that they are calling, so they already needed to deal with this
> in the same way.
>
> Fixes: 2f5dc00f7a3e ("net: bridge: switchdev: let drivers inform which bridge ports are offloaded")
> Reported-by: Linux Kernel Functional Testing <lkft@linaro.org>
> Signed-off-by: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>

I'm still seeing build failures after this patch was applied. I have a fixup
patch that seems to work, but I'm still not sure if that version is complete.

      Arnd

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-02 14:47 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-26 14:25 Vladimir Oltean
2021-07-27 10:15 ` Anders Roxell
2021-07-27 10:20 ` patchwork-bot+netdevbpf
2021-08-02 14:47 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2021-08-03 11:18   ` Grygorii Strashko
2021-08-03 11:58     ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-08-03 12:33       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-03 12:46         ` Grygorii Strashko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a2HGm7MyUc3N1Vjdb2inS6D3E3HDq4bNTOBaHZQCP9kwA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=Steen.Hegelund@microchip.com \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=lars.povlsen@microchip.com \
    --cc=lkft@linaro.org \
    --cc=naresh.kamboju@linaro.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nikolay@nvidia.com \
    --cc=roopa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next] net: build all switchdev drivers as modules when the bridge is a module' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).