Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>, Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Rui Miguel Silva <rmfrfs@gmail.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>, Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Robert Marko <robert.marko@sartura.hr>,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Ramesh Shanmugasundaram <rashanmu@gmail.com>,
	"G. Jaya Kumaran" <vineetha.g.jaya.kumaran@intel.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@pengutronix.de>,
	ChiYuan Huang <cy_huang@richtek.com>,
	Wei Xu <xuwei5@hisilicon.com>,
	Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@linux.intel.com>,
	Karol Gugala <kgugala@antmicro.com>,
	Mateusz Holenko <mholenko@antmicro.com>,
	Olivier Moysan <olivier.moysan@st.com>,
	Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@ti.com>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Media Mailing List <linux-media@vger.kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:REAL TIME CLOCK (RTC) SUBSYSTEM" 
	<linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-ALSA <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] dt-bindings: Remove "status" from schema examples
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2021 07:49:30 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL_Jsq+XEbEJuoSiQ=PeL-34FkLqG-eYA86FvNK7K-uGbaTFwg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <8343dfe9d1af1ad4ab806104b74a95819c765dea.camel@pengutronix.de>

On Wed, Jul 21, 2021 at 2:33 AM Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de> wrote:
>
> Hi Rob,
>
> On Tue, 2021-07-20 at 11:20 -0600, Rob Herring wrote:
> > There's no reason to have "status" properties in examples. "okay" is the
> > default, and "disabled" turns off some schema checks ('required'
> > specifically).
>
> Is this documented somewhere? If not, should it be? (Maybe in writing-
> schema.rst -> Schema Contents -> examples?)

I don't think it is. I'm writing a schema for it which works for both
those that read documentation and those that don't.

Rob

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-21 13:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-20 17:20 Rob Herring
2021-07-20 17:49 ` Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-07-20 17:58 ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-20 18:15 ` Rui Miguel Silva
2021-07-20 18:40 ` Alexandre Belloni
2021-07-20 20:33 ` Mark Brown
2021-07-21  8:32 ` Philipp Zabel
2021-07-21 13:49   ` Rob Herring [this message]
2021-07-21 11:05 ` Oleksij Rempel
2021-07-21 14:26 ` Linus Walleij
2021-07-23 21:18 ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAL_Jsq+XEbEJuoSiQ=PeL-34FkLqG-eYA86FvNK7K-uGbaTFwg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cy_huang@richtek.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=eswara.kota@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kgugala@antmicro.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mholenko@antmicro.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=o.rempel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=olivier.moysan@st.com \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=peter.ujfalusi@ti.com \
    --cc=rashanmu@gmail.com \
    --cc=rmfrfs@gmail.com \
    --cc=robert.marko@sartura.hr \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=vineetha.g.jaya.kumaran@intel.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=xuwei5@hisilicon.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] dt-bindings: Remove "status" from schema examples' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).