Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
To: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>
Cc: Dinghao Liu <dinghao.liu@zju.edu.cn>, Kangjie Lu <kjlu@umn.edu>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Scott Mayhew <smayhew@redhat.com>,
	linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org,
	"open list:BPF JIT for MIPS (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)" 
	<netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] gss_krb5: Fix memleak in krb5_make_rc4_seq_num
Date: Mon, 31 Aug 2020 18:27:38 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMj1kXFUhqz8HPcssWXKCZ92c-pZvgYKk4aX6xmq2qocmiTKsA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200829153648.GB20499@fieldses.org>

On Sat, 29 Aug 2020 at 18:43, J. Bruce Fields <bfields@fieldses.org> wrote:
>
> This code is rarely if ever used, and there are pending patches to
> remove it completely, so I don't think it's worth trying to fix a rare
> memory leak at this point.
>
> --b.
>

FYI I just submitted v3 of my series removing this code to the
linux-crypto list, and so hopefully it will disappear in v5.10


> On Thu, Aug 27, 2020 at 04:02:50PM +0800, Dinghao Liu wrote:
> > When kmalloc() fails, cipher should be freed
> > just like when krb5_rc4_setup_seq_key() fails.
> >
> > Fixes: e7afe6c1d486b ("sunrpc: fix 4 more call sites that were using stack memory with a scatterlist")
> > Signed-off-by: Dinghao Liu <dinghao.liu@zju.edu.cn>
> > ---
> >  net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_seqnum.c | 6 ++++--
> >  1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> >
> > diff --git a/net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_seqnum.c b/net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_seqnum.c
> > index 507105127095..88ca58d11082 100644
> > --- a/net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_seqnum.c
> > +++ b/net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_seqnum.c
> > @@ -53,8 +53,10 @@ krb5_make_rc4_seq_num(struct krb5_ctx *kctx, int direction, s32 seqnum,
> >               return PTR_ERR(cipher);
> >
> >       plain = kmalloc(8, GFP_NOFS);
> > -     if (!plain)
> > -             return -ENOMEM;
> > +     if (!plain) {
> > +             code = -ENOMEM;
> > +             goto out;
> > +     }
> >
> >       plain[0] = (unsigned char) ((seqnum >> 24) & 0xff);
> >       plain[1] = (unsigned char) ((seqnum >> 16) & 0xff);
> > --
> > 2.17.1

      reply	other threads:[~2020-08-31 15:27 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-27  8:02 Dinghao Liu
2020-08-29 15:36 ` J. Bruce Fields
2020-08-31 15:27   ` Ard Biesheuvel [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAMj1kXFUhqz8HPcssWXKCZ92c-pZvgYKk4aX6xmq2qocmiTKsA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chuck.lever@oracle.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dinghao.liu@zju.edu.cn \
    --cc=kjlu@umn.edu \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=smayhew@redhat.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] gss_krb5: Fix memleak in krb5_make_rc4_seq_num' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).