Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Anand Moon <linux.amoon@gmail.com>
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Emiliano Ingrassia <ingrassia@epigenesys.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv1 3/3] net: stmmac: dwmac-meson8b: Add reset controller for ethernet phy
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2021 22:21:01 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YQMNrVV1Dm+yxUiU@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210729201100.3994-4-linux.amoon@gmail.com>

> @@ -465,6 +478,13 @@ static int meson8b_dwmac_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>  		goto err_remove_config_dt;
>  	}
>  
> +	dwmac->eth_reset = devm_reset_control_get_exclusive(dwmac->dev, "ethreset");
> +	if (IS_ERR_OR_NULL(dwmac->eth_reset)) {
> +		dev_err(dwmac->dev, "Failed to get Ethernet reset\n");
> +		ret = PTR_ERR(dwmac->eth_reset);
> +		goto err_remove_config_dt;
> +	}
> +

Hi Anand

Since this is a new property, you need to handle it not being in the
DT blob. You probably need to use
devm_reset_control_get_optinal_exclusive()

	Andrew

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29 20:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29 20:10 [PATCHv1 0/3] Add Reset controller to Ethernet PHY Anand Moon
2021-07-29 20:10 ` [PATCHv1 1/3] arm64: dts: amlogic: add missing ethernet reset ID Anand Moon
2021-07-30  9:42   ` Philipp Zabel
2021-07-29 20:10 ` [PATCHv1 2/3] ARM: dts: meson: Use new reset id for reset controller Anand Moon
2021-07-30  9:45   ` Philipp Zabel
2021-07-30 18:48     ` Anand Moon
2021-07-29 20:10 ` [PATCHv1 3/3] net: stmmac: dwmac-meson8b: Add reset controller for ethernet phy Anand Moon
2021-07-29 20:21   ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-08-03 20:45   ` Martin Blumenstingl
2021-08-03 20:41 ` [PATCHv1 0/3] Add Reset controller to Ethernet PHY Martin Blumenstingl

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YQMNrVV1Dm+yxUiU@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ingrassia@epigenesys.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux.amoon@gmail.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCHv1 3/3] net: stmmac: dwmac-meson8b: Add reset controller for ethernet phy' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox