Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@intel.com>,
	Michael Sit Wei Hong <michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset
Date: Mon, 9 Aug 2021 15:35:09 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YREvDRkiuScyN8Ws@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210809102229.933748-2-vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com>

On Mon, Aug 09, 2021 at 06:22:28PM +0800, Wong Vee Khee wrote:
> From: Michael Sit Wei Hong <michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com>
> 
> Unlike any other platforms, Intel AlderLake-S uses Synopsys SerDes where
> all the SerDes PLL configurations are controlled by the xPCS at the BIOS
> level. If the driver perform a xPCS soft reset on initialization, these
> settings will be switched back to the power on reset values.
> 
> This changes the xpcs_create function to take in an additional argument
> to check if the platform request to skip xPCS soft reset during device
> initialization.

Why not just call into the BIOS and ask it to configure the SERDES?
Isn't that what ACPI is all about, hiding the details from the OS? Or
did the BIOS writers not add a control method to do this?

    Andrew

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-09 13:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 10:22 [PATCH net-next 0/2] Intel AlderLake-S 2.5Gbps link speed support Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 11:06   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-08-10 23:50     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 13:35   ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-08-10 23:55     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-11  8:36       ` Florian Fainelli
2021-08-11 14:20         ` Andrew Lunn
2021-08-26 11:50           ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] stmmac: intel: Enable 2.5Gbps on Intel AlderLake-S Wong Vee Khee

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YREvDRkiuScyN8Ws@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=weifeng.voon@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).