Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Cc: Wong Vee Khee <vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Voon Weifeng <weifeng.voon@intel.com>,
	Michael Sit Wei Hong <michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2021 16:20:56 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YRPcyHTc2FJeEoqk@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <f2a1f135-b77a-403d-5d2e-c497efc99df7@gmail.com>

> > BIOS does configured the SerDes. The problem here is that all the
> > configurations done by BIOS are being reset at xpcs_create().
> > 
> > We would want user of the pcs-xpcs module (stmmac, sja1105) to have
> > control whether or not we need to perform to the soft reset in the
> > xpcs_create() call.
> 
> I understood Andrew's response as suggesting to introduce the ability for
> xpcs_create() to make a BIOS call which would configure the SerDes after
> xpcs_soft_reset().

Yes. Exactly. That is what ACPI is for, so we should use it for this.

     Andrew

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-11 14:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 10:22 [PATCH net-next 0/2] Intel AlderLake-S 2.5Gbps link speed support Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 11:06   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-08-10 23:50     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 13:35   ` Andrew Lunn
2021-08-10 23:55     ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-11  8:36       ` Florian Fainelli
2021-08-11 14:20         ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-08-26 11:50           ` Wong Vee Khee
2021-08-09 10:22 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] stmmac: intel: Enable 2.5Gbps on Intel AlderLake-S Wong Vee Khee

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YRPcyHTc2FJeEoqk@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael.wei.hong.sit@intel.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=vee.khee.wong@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=weifeng.voon@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: pcs: xpcs: enable skip xPCS soft reset' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).